Posted by: angelnorman | July 22, 2007

Peanut butter is the new black.

This afternoon I sent Michael away to have some much-needed “him” time.  He always lets me take breaks and get together with my gal pals whenever I need it, so I urged him today to go and see a movie he’s been wanting to see. He listened, and I settled in front of the t.v. to catch up on some girl shows while Nick napped.

Michael called me when the movie was out, asking what Nick and I wanted for dinner from La Siesta, and I gave him our dinner orders.  Once I hung up the phone, I realized that Nick had been exceptionally quiet during my convo with his daddy, and that I probably needed to check on him pronto. “Nick,” I called out. “What are you doing?”

A few seconds later, Nick appeared at the office door. “Rubbing,” he answered me matter-of-factly.

“Rubbing?” Turning toward him, I noticed he was rubbing his hands together as if he were putting on some lotion or something. Oh God. Did I leave the lotion out? No. I was sure it was put up. Maybe he didn’t have anything on his hands. “What are you rubbing?”

He came closer. “Like this.” He continued to rub his hands together, and I noticed that there was some sort of shiny and somewhat clumpy material on his hands and forearms. I smelled something familiar, but I couldn’t place it. It smelled… of the kitchen. I jumped up and followed my son into the kitchen where suddenly, it all made sense.

Apparently, my son decided to get into the pantry, get out the peanut butter and paint my kitchen cabinets a nice shade of brown as was made evident by the jar of peanut butter laying in the floor and the cabinets, stove, and dishwasher doors all covered in the sticky brown goo.

Nice, Nick. I couldn’t help but laugh though, even if it definitely wasn’t fun to clean up.

Leave a Reply

Categories

