Posted by: angelnorman | September 7, 2007

To-do or not to-do

Nick: “What’s her name?”
Me: “That’s your Aunt Courtney, you know that.”
Nick: “And what’s his name?”
Me: “That’s Juan (Courtney’s boyfriend), sillyhead.”
Nick: “I wuff (his way of saying “love”) Juan, Mommy. I wuff him too.”

Aw. What a sweetie.

Today has been GREAT! It could be ’cause it’s Friday and my husband gets off early today and has no school tonight! Or it could be because last night, in between trying to make myself tired and blogging, I made a huge list of stuff to do and I’ve accomplished over half of it today, making me feel quite productive. It’s a huge improvement from how I felt at the beginning of the week. It could also be the fact that I did my daily devotional and had my prayer time with God, so my day is better since it started out with positive energy and love. Or it could be all of the above.

I have not only managed to remember to take care of myself today (seriously, sometimes I let it slip because I get so busy with other stuff that I just put myself on the backburner, so on my to-do list, I made sure to include a reminder to do my devotional, have my daily prayer time, take a multivitamin, eat every meal, etc) as well as take care of Nick, work my butt off on both my paying jobs, clean my house, and I still had time to have tickle fights and “who can give the biggest squeeze to the other” contests with Nick. 🙂 Now back to my list. You may laugh at me for having to schedule everything like this, but it is seriously overdue. I too used to laugh at lists.

Once I found a detailed to-do list in a book someone let me borrow where this someone had written down everything under the sun that she needed to do that day, including shower. It made me smile, and I thought “Wow, that’s kinda bad that you can’t even remember to shower and you have to schedule the time to take one…”

…but then don’t ask me when I showered last.

So yeah, “shower” is on my to-do list today. I can’t help it. I have to be better at this, and the first step for me is to get organized. Lists really help you stay organized, IMO. The truth is that I just forget about ME sometimes. I know that probably sounds weird but when you’re potty-trainign a rambunctious boy and working on several design gigs, and trying to maintain a house, plan and cook meals, and uphold family and outside obligations, it can be quite overwhelming. So much so that it causes you to just forget about things that can wait till the next day…. for me it’s myself.

I forget what I need and what I want because I’m so busy doing for everyone else, cleaning, cooking, caring, babysitting, working, spending valuable time with my loved ones, etc. I put myself on the backburner, and without thinking about it really. I’m not complaining, please don’t get me wrong. I love my life. I’ve made it this way on my own accord because it best suits who I am… well, minus the not showering daily part! Haha.

All I’m saying is that I totally see the need to schedule myself a shower, a reminder to take my meds, or a break from the computer to do some meditative yoga on my (freshly vacuumed) floor.

Nick is napping now, so I’m going to go back to work on my list. Happy upcoming Grandparents Day to my mom! Check your mailbox tomorrow 😀

Leave a Reply

Categories

