Posted by: angelnorman | September 27, 2007

Something Blue

This AM, I finished “Something Blue” by Emily Giffin. Although I struggled to actually understand and identify with the main character in the first few chapters, a big part of me could relate to her as the novel unwrapped. I couldn’t appreciate her love of couture or fanciness. I’m much too simple for that, and girls like her often baffle me. However, I could appreciate her great change, how she embraced bettering herself for her child, and how it wasn’t until she started the self-improvements that she found true love.

At first the novel was incredibly passionate. The main character was going through a forbidden affair with a groomsman in her wedding, and while cheating is not ever acceptable in my book, I still felt the desire to have that passion in my life too. No to cheat of course, but to have that pasison with my husband. I even told Mike that we lacked passion like that. You know when you watch a movie or hear a song and wistfully think about someone feeling the same way about you? Or is it only me who does that? lol. Mike didn’t take too kindly to me comparing myself or our relationship to fictional characters, perhaps because I’ve been watching a TON of romantic comedies and dramas and doing this comparison for a couple weeks now… I know, I suck. Anyways, so she winds up pregnant and alone and then the rest of the novel is about her trying to start over, in London even (I LONG to go there), becoming humbled and considerate in ways she never was before. And that is when she finds love, in an unexpected source.

By the end of the book, I was starting to appreciate my relationship with Mike so much more. Passion is nice and fun but I see now that romances based upon them are like fire… they can only burn under the right circumstance. There has to be the perfect environment for fire to thrive- the right amount of air, heat, stuff like this. But real relationships based on love and compassion (with the occasional dose of passion if you’re lucky) are far superior because they can withstand a flood. The conditions need not be perfect for the relationship to function. In mine and Mike’s case, it was a crisis. We survived something together that was so much bigger than either of us could have handled seperately. We survive little things daily… strained schedules, lack of time, each of us being pulled in seperate directions. And at the end of the day, all I still really want and need is to cuddle up next to him in our bed, to feel his warmth and to be held in his big protective arms.

I closed the book, with tears in my eyes, and love in my heart pouring out for my husband. I had to wake him and thank him for being the right one for me. I love when I’m reminded of this. It makes me feel so much better when I’m overwhelmed to stop and remember, and say, “Oh yeah!” and appreciate it all so much more. He didn’t know what to think when I woke him, but he was happy to be snuggly and lovey first thing in the AM.

So yeah the book. You should read it if you like happy endings and a quick read 🙂

Responses

  1. i am glad you liked it


Leave a Reply

Categories

