Posted by: angelnorman | October 29, 2007

Stupid money.

I am so over our budget.

I have done everything I know to do to keep Nicholas’s birthday party under the budget. I have skimped and scrounged on meals. Sure, we’ve done a lot of fast food and you know, we did spend $30 on date night even though we only wanted to really spend $10. There are some unnecessary and unimportant purchases being made. But still, I find that we’re hurting for $, and it’s really frustrating.

I feel like we have no choice but for me to go back to work, but Mike doesn’t like the idea of me working third and then sleeping all day while simultaneously watching Nick. He is right; not only is this dangerous, but it wouldn’t make for good sleep for me because I’d have to get up and make lunch and help him potty and so I’d be sleeping for 30 minutes at a time, 7 times a day. So yeah, that wouldn’t work out well. I just don’t see that I have much of a choice now. Can’t afford daycare, can’t get caught up on our bills. It’s a mess.

I’ve been researching some budget-friendly foods too, so that we don’t have to live on those $1 Totinos pizzas for two weeks. I mean, we are also trying to eat a little healthier. Healthy and wallet-friendly do not typically go hand-in-hand, but I’m doing what we can. Mike tells me not to worry, but then Mike doesn’t have to plan meals either. He gets to detach from the reality everyday and escape in programming and doing what he loves. I, on the other hand, have to be reminded constantly of sacrifices and obligations and bills and everything else that makes me want to scream at the top of my lungs and/or run away.

I hope the grandparents help pay us back for the toddler room we created instead of overloading him with toys and clothes he doesn’t need for his birthday. I’m going to need the money to even be able to afford his Christmas.

Responses

  1. I understand! I’ve been trying to budget and it sucks that things just dont mesh! It’s like, i work and wait 2 weeks to get paid, then when I do and sit down to write out all my bills and food budget and gas budget, I’m still coming up short! I don’t know what to do, I even thought about getting a second job, but would get to spend even less time w/ my daughter than I do now, and I don’t want to do that. It’s like you are damned if you do and damned if you don’t!

    PS I take my lunch to work to save some money, I like the jeno’s pizza’s they are 78 cents! 🙂 but agree they are not very healthy! it’s hard to eat both healthy & cheap! Just thought i’d throw my 2 cents in!


Leave a Reply

Categories

