Posted by: angelnorman | November 1, 2007

Plasmagasification, cosleeping, the 3Rs, and whatever else I can fit in here.

What is it about other people’s lives that we find so interesting, enough to read their blogs daily even though we don’t really know much if anything about them and their families? I have asked myself this a lot today because one of my favorite bloggers has decided to stop, and the question presented itself in her farewell blog (and her farewell comments) and has been with me ever since. It’s sorta funny to me to think about how we can read something someone wrote and feel connected to that person, as if we know them and their children and their situation. It’s really no different than when we watch Meg Ryan in You’ve Got Mail and feel deeply sorry for her that she is losing her bookstore and that she doesn’t know Joe Fox is the man she’s been conversing with online but OH! how we want them to be happy together! I think it’s because we’re all connected and we all want to know that we’re experiencing the human experience in the same or similar ways. I don’t know, maybe that’s not it. But I really and truly hope the best for her, and I don’t know her from Adam’s house cat.

***

My kid is FINALLY asleep. We started out naptime today @ 2:15 pm, in my bed because Nick and I have recently found lots of joy in cosleeping. We were never cosleepers before he got his toddler bed, except for maybe once or twice, but now we’re sleeping soundly next to one another any chance we get. It’s like a security blanket for me, and it adds comfort to an already comfortable thing– a nap. So in my mind it’s not bad at all. It’s great that we can snuggle and hug and lie next to one another in complete quiet as we drift off to slumberland.

Except today… it’s not so great today at all.

I fell asleep somewhere around 2:16, lol. Between 2:16 and 2:59, I felt his feet on my thighs, my butt, my back, my hair…. Occasionally he would sit up, lean over my head, and caefully… very gently… (and also while snickering) open my eyelids with his hands and whisper, “hi.” I threatened to call the monster, the one who comes and throws his toys in the trash whenever he doesn’t clean his room, to come and get him and make him go to sleep at least 1/2 dozen times. Finally, I called the only monster I could… my husband.

I never addressed him as anything but “MONSTER”. He was all sweet when he answered the phone, “Hiya, babe!” and I totally ignored it. “Hello, monster who makes kids go to sleep. Listen, I have a little boy here named Nicholas who will not sleep. Can you talk soem sense into him?” Yes, I actually made him fake a monster voice and tell Nick to get to sleep. Nick’s eyes widened the first time but by the time my husband was done, Nick was only laughing and asking for Mike to do it “‘gin” (“again.”)

By 4:11, he was laying in his own bed, door shut, sleeping soundly. Great. But I have to wake him up at 5 or he’ll never sleep tonight… so I’m sure the only monster we’ll be seeing today is him after he gets a half-nap.

***

Have you ever heard of plasma gasification? After watching a show on The Science Channel called Eco-Tech (and more specifically, the episode called “Zero Waste”), I want to be a plasmagasificationist. That’s right. I want to go to school, become an engineer, and work somewhere that makes this concept a reality and cleans up all our trash-laden landfills. Here’s the lowdown. And here’s some info from the company I’d work for 🙂

500 years for a disposable poop diaper to decompose in a landfill.
5 seconds for it to decompose with plasma gasification.
‘Nuff said IMO.

Still, they support the efforts of the 3R inititiative because some plastics are more valuable when recycled into other plastics instead of just destroying it and recreating the plastic anew. Recycling 36 soda bottles can make one square foot of carpet, did you know that?

Still doesn’t mean that all the bottles I have recycled (hundreds and hundreds!) have made new carpet any more affordable for me, though. :/

***

Here’s my reading list for November:

Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
Jenny & The Jaws of Life by Jincy Willett
Scar Tissue by Anthony Kiedis and Larry Sloman
I’m Not the New Me by Wendy McClure

Responses

  1. That is exactly what our carpet is made of! We love it! Well, you can’t cancel your blog because I love it and am addicted! 😉

  2. Yes, no canceling of your blog! 🙂 It makes me smile. And it reinforces the fact that if you lived closer, I’d be having a lot more girly nights and would probably know what the heck WoW was about,haha.

    Nick is such a lil stinker! The girls would do that when they were about his age and I’d try to take a nap with them. The “monster” call, I must say, is hilarious!

  3. I am in agreement with the others, no cancelling your blog! I love reading it! It makes me feel connected to another Mom that understands, plus you are super smart, an awesome writer and make me laugh!!! HA HA HA Love the Monster Call! Abby is a cosleeper, compliments of my Husband! Anyway, love the blog!

  4. Ok, one of my fav bloggers just stopped…it couldn’t be the same one? kdamnspot? if so, weird and i feel you.

  5. NO CANCELING!!!!!!!!!

    I may not get to read it everyday but when I do it makes me smile. you are so funny and I love you. I feel like you need to write a book about something. It would be a good seller. You already have a fan club with me and all of your friends who read your blog.

    Moma


Leave a Reply

Categories

