Posted by: angelnorman | November 30, 2007

Adieu, Chattanooga. Till we meet again.

One of my favorite places in the entire world is Bluffview Art District in Chattanooga. Sure, I don’t have too much to compare it to, but I love it enough to know that I don’t NEED much to compare it to. It’s just THAT great. I don’t know if it’s the quaint buildings there on the bluff and the spectacular view from their vantage point, or if it’s just the entire atmosphere– the whole shebang– and how it feels like such a special, private place in the middle of its bigger city…. All I know is that when we visited back in February, I felt right at home and I look forward to going back, to staying there for days and days.

Unfortunately, we didn’t get to stay there on our last visit. We stayed at the Chattanoogan, which had a “second honeymoon” package complete with a spa where we got massages and felt pampered…. but beyond these things, our stay in that hotel was nothing to write home about. The Chattanoogan was lovely– and it had an indoor pool and some great little restaurants and food. But it wasn’t us at all. We felt out of place, even at the martini bar. I guess if I just had to describe it one way, I’d have to say it felt too “fancy” for our tastes. There is a time and place for fancy, I’m sure, but we’ve personally never needed it.

We set out to make sure that our trip in February would be full of art and history instead of the typical touristy spots, as beautiful as they are, that we’ve seen a gazillion times, and that’s what led us to the Bluffview Art District. We visited the Hunter museum and then afterwards we walked across the street to Rembrandt’s, a bustling little hot spot for good drinks and sandwiches. The real treat though came later that night when we drove from our hotel room across town back to the art district (we didn’t need to see anything else in the city at all!!) and had our anniversary dinner at Tony’s. Oh the wine! Oh the pasta! OH the bread! The bread is worth every bit of carbalicious calories that it contains.

Well Mike was really hoping to rent us a car tomorrow and drive me down to Tony’s for dinner to celebrate my birthday, but I’m not in the mood to go and spend the money ($40 for the car, and add’l $40 for dinner, $20 for gas… and then more for whatever else we decide to do)  for just a few hours, ya know? I want to stay overnight at the bed and breakfast, but we have obligations that we cannot get out of on Sunday, so staying overnight will need to wait, perhaps till our anniversary again. 🙂

 So all this to say that I guess we’re not doing anything tomorrow now, which makes me sad to an extent but I feel it’s for the best at this time. I just can’t justify all that money on something I can’t enjoy for very long, especially when we’re struggling to even afford Christmas gifts, ha. Now if he said we were going down to ATL to IKEA, that’d be another story. I’d be all over it.

That would be an even more expensive trip though 😛

Leave a Reply

Categories

