Posted by: angelnorman | December 9, 2007

It’s a homemade Christmas, woo!

 And he puzzled three hours, till his puzzler was sore. Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before! “Maybe Christmas,” he thought, “doesn’t come from a store. Maybe Christmas perhaps means a little bit more!”
– excerpted from How The Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss

I'm a soapmaker, baby.

The soap-makin’ shindig at my friend Shea’s was really awesome needless to say. I walked away with a ton of good goat’s milk soap, which on its own is cool but when melted down and scented, decorated, and poured into cute little molds is just… extra cool? Yes, for lack of better words.

I like soap-making. I think I want to do more of it for Christmas gifts, only preferably with glycerin. I happen to enjoy glycerin soaps most of all… anyways, now that I know I CAN do it, and that I can add some stuff one might not normally combine and use my imagination, I’m inspired to continue this trend. I really enjoy it that much.

On the Christmas front, I just have a little bit more $$$ to spend before I’m done, but it’s mainly on supplies to ensure that my homemade Christmas not be shabby. Nick is getting a couple more purchased things, but beyond that it’s all stuff I’m making. I want to finish his and Mike’s scarves sometime this week…. Tall order, I’m afraid, but I can do it somehow. As far as everyone else, I intend to bake for most of the men in my life and for the women, I’m making good things that most gals like. It’s all coming together slowly because I am of course strapped for cash being that it’s the first of the month (mortgage– pfft) and that I’m just a bad planner.

But now that I’ve been creatively inspired, I feel good about what I HAVE done, what I want to do, and how things do seem to just fall into place the closer we get to Christmas. I surely do love a homemade Christmas.

Now I’m off to shower and all that good stuff. I’ve got plans today to do some natural garland creation with A and L-bug. But before I go, did I tell you that I’m now the helping hands coordinator for my mom’s group? I am! And I’ve already set into motion what we’re doing as our first project– we’re sponsoring some angels from the angel tree. So I’ve got that to work on. Oh and… The AM outreach party is in two days, the gingerbread bake-off at J’s house is on Thursday, and our annual tradition of the family Christmas breakfast– which always signifies to me that Christmas is just around the bend– is now a week away. I am in no need for things to do, that I can say for sure 🙂

Responses

  1. have you dipped big pretzels, oreos and nutter butters before….it is really good and cheap and looks really expensive when you get done….plus nick would have fun rolling them in sprinkles and crushed peppermint…Rocky Mountain Choc factory and other stores charge and arma and a leg for what can be done at home for alot cheaper….

  2. actually i really, really want to do the big pretzels this year. never have before, but the ones over at Food Network look amazingly delish. p.s. thanks for sending me the pics from last night. i’ll have to upload them!

  3. Also…at our Christmas party on Saturday..there were these super easy Ritz crackers covered in baking chocolate and topped with crushed Peppermint…SO GOOD! Just another idea~!

  4. LOVE IT! I love the soaps they look great!

    I am so proud of you. Look’s like coordinating runs in the family:-)

    Sounds like you are pretty busy from here on out. Have fun!

    I love you!

    Moma


Leave a Reply

Categories

