Posted by: angelnorman | December 14, 2007

Thoughts from the stuffy nosed Norman household

I had no idea how much I would learn about sodium, sugar, or carb levels in the foods I normally consume when I started out counting calories and these other things yesterday, but already I’ve learned more than I thought I would. For instance, I had no idea that 1 lame glass of 2% milk added an extra 120 mg of sodium… or that eating 1 cup of red beans and rice, which is a staple around here since we’re always budget-watching, is the same as consuming 1200 mg of sodium. And if you add smoked turkey sausage, you’re sitting at 1810 mg of sodium. And the recommended daily allowance (RDA) is only 2400!

It’s pretty easy to count things, though. Yesterday I consumed only 1000 calories roughly- 880 in food and then an added bonus for the OJ I had at bed… I actually forgot to factor this in. I ate well at every meal though and was rarely hungry. It helps that I’m sick and am having to force myself to eat at all. I also consumed a total of 20 grams of fat, 126 grams of carbs, 55.5 sugar, and a whopping 2640 in sodium. Oops on the sodium… stupid red beans and rice! Actually though, I read on this site that the average intake in the US is typically 4k-5k mg per day…. so I’m probably doing better than I normally would. I don’t even want to think of what I eat when I eat say, McFatty’s…

Giving up things is not that hard. Yesterday I drank only 1 drink of diet coke and the rest of the day, I had water except for the times I drank milk with breakfast, my midday (caffeine free) hot tea, or juice before bed. If someone said to me that I would have to give up diet coke, I think I could do it. Maybe it’s my sickness talking… perhaps I’m feverish and therefore not thinking clearly… but actually not drinking DC was not as hard as I thought it might be. I also had no coffee. And I lived. Through the day!

Exercising is going to be my downfall, I can already tell. I really need to rejoin the Y. I may do that with some of our extra student loan money. I mean, why not? Sure I have to pay it back eventually but maybe my sweet husband (who btw, has strep throat!) will land some ridiculous well-paying job and we won’t have to struggle to pay it back. Yes, I’ll keep wishing for that.

Besides, it’s do it now or wait till I get my tax refund the following month. So what’s the difference? 🙂

I just really need a place to go to keep me semi-accountable. I think I can really do it this time.

Maybe I’ll just pay my doctors to tell me that I may have diabetes everytime I go, and that way I’ll never lose motivation again to regain control of my health and stop letting sugar and fast food run my life.

Responses

  1. I”m so proud of you! and I was going to ask you..since we are budgeting to join the Y in January..would you like to go? That way Nick and Jenson can have eachother…and Kendan can be in the baby nursery. I love water aerobics! That’s what made me lose weight the quickest! LET’S DO IT!!!!

  2. I would SO join you on the Y wagon. I really need to join once I have this kiddo in March. PLUS the kids LOVE to swim. I swear they were fish once upon a time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

