Posted by: angelnorman | December 21, 2007

So this is Christmas.

Did you get my Christmas card yet? No? Do you know why?

Because I FORGOT to send them.

Actually, that is a complete untruth. The real truth is that I “forgot” to even fill them out, address them, put stamps on them, and take them to the post office…. and by “forgot” I mean I procrastinated until the very last minute, as I so often do.

I just finished my Christmas shopping today. Four days before Christmas. But at least I finished….

I have yet to bake anything, and I have so much baking to do that I am currently pushing off till tonight… tomorrow… in between Christmas dinners. And oy vey, the Christmas dinners we shall attend within the next few days! It all starts for us tomorrow at about 5 pm, when we will have the first of two dinners with Mike’s dad and stepmom. Then on Sunday, it’s church and of course, back to Mike’s dad’s for Christmas snacks with the family. On Monday night, it’s my grandmother’s house to see my dad’s side of the family, and on Tuesday morning it’s Mike’s mother’s house and then Tuesday evening, it’s my mom’s house.

No, we’re not gluttons for punishment. In fact, we wouldn’t trade the insane busy-ness for anything.

Well, Mike would. He said today he was ready for Christmas to be over already. JERK. I have worked so hard to make this Christmas more special for him. You see, I was raised in a family where Christmas wasn’t about gifts, though there was never a short supply or anything. It just wasn’t about unwrapping presents and what Santa brought for me. It was about time with family and friends. It was about the church Christmas play, which I so often starred in or wrote or both; Christmas decor and driving around in search of extravagant Christmas light displays; singing carols ’round the piano with my aunts and uncles and cousins; my Nanny’s chicken dumplins and/or chicken casserole and my Aunt Kim’s cherry cheesecake. It was about the whole experience, and that is one of the main reasons that I love Christmas so much today and don’t want to miss a minute of any of the fun.

Mike had some of that stuff too but his main focus was always on the gifts under the tree. I used to think that was some kind of awful, but you know, everyone has their own way of spreading joy just like they do of receiving joy. And if receiving a gift makes him happy, then that’s his perrogative! And actually, he’s very lucky to be married to me because I like gift-giving! 😉

For the past several years though, we have used all extra $ at Christmas to sponsor a family in need or whatever and we’ve not exchanged gifts between us really. We always do stockings, but not actual gifts to unwrap. So I went out and bought him a book, a movie, and a CD, and got him some fun stuff for his stocking… And I haven’t told him a word about what he is getting for Christmas just yet, so I think he’ll be surprised 🙂 He just needs to relax and enjoy what is to come. He better enjoy himself anyways!

But my point is that if you all want to know why you’re not getting as much from me this year or why you haven’t got your card or why I’m sitting on my butt when I could be baking, well just remember that my focus was on my family this year, and uh… that should… you know, excuse my bad behavior a little. Just a little? Please? 😀

***

In other news, I finished Nick’s scarf. I think he’s going to love it.

And in even more late-breaking news, I did manage to wrap some of my gifts. The purple one is Nick’s scarf. It’s a little over the top, but it’s pretty nonetheless!

Responses

  1. The scarf looks awesome!


Leave a Reply

Categories

