Posted by: angelnorman | January 24, 2008

A diagnosis.

Twelve years ago, I sat outside on the church steps at my grandfather’s church after church had long been over, catching up with and sharing secrets with my childhood friends about their recent changes– some had been promiscuous, some had started their periods, some had started smoking, etc. It was a sort of “confessionals” moment. Everyone had something to contribute to the conversation about how much they were growing up. That is, everyone except me. “You mean you’re 15 and you haven’t even started your period? Wow!” They exclaimed. I had nothing cool to report. My body was still very childlike. I didn’t even LIKE boys (or girls or anything, to be specific). I felt like some sort of freak of nature back on that Sunday afternoon, like suddenly I didn’t even fit in with my homegirls. “Don’t worry,” one of them (my favorite) said to me. “It’ll happen soon. And then you’ll hate it.”

One week later, I learned what she meant. my period finally came– a month before I turned 16.

The next one came 10 months later.

“You’re just a late bloomer, Angel. It happens. But if you want, I’ll take you to see the doctor.” My mom said one day after hearing me complain way too much. And take me to the doctor she did– but because I had not yet been sexually active at that time, there was really nothing I could do but talk to this woman about the cramping without a period, the mood swings, the depression, the feelings of inadequacy, etc, etc. Now some of this, as my doctor pointed out, was coming from what can only be described as normal teenage emotion. But the rest was just brushed off as my body trying to “get in the swing of things.”

At 17.5 years old, I became sexually active. (Sorry, mom.) I decided to get myself on birth control and marched myself down to the clinic to get support. Prior to getting on birth control, I had had maybe 8 periods. In one and a half years.

At the age of 22, I started trying to conceive. I had stopped taking the birth control when I got married at the age of 20, so having that in my system didn’t seem like an issue. The periods were erratic, coming only when they felt like gracing me with their presence– and conception was just not happening.

At the age of 23, they found that my thyroid levels were out of whack, which led to my diagnosis of hypothyroidism. They just knew that it was my thyroid throwing things off and keeping me from getting pregnant. Within a year of being diagnosed with hypothyroidism and taking my synthroid, my periods started coming bi-monthly and I finally got pregnant.

After my pregnancy, the periods disappeared. I have not had a single un-assisted period since giving birth to my child. In 3 years, no one has been able to tell me why. Until yesterday, that is.

So today I am celebrating freedom from uncertainty, because they finally have a diagnosis for me. I’m not diabetic, no. But close.

I have PCOS.

It’s still an issue, but it’s not that bad. With a little weight control, some moderate exercise, and taking my medications regularly, I may just be able to have a fighting chance in the battle of TTC.

Praise God, from whom all blessings flow. So I had to wait 12 years to figure out what was wrong with me…. But at least I know. And that is such a relief. Let’s just hope and pray that the treatments work for me soon!

Responses

  1. Girl, I am so relieved for you. I mean, you finally have an answer and you can try to do something about it. Big Hugs to you, my friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

