Posted by: angelnorman | March 9, 2008

Two sweet things to feed the need

Do you know what I love (other than strawberry cake coverd in lite whipped topping)?

My kid of course and in particular, catching him singing something. His little voice is the sweetest, and just watching him try to wait for parts in a song that he knows well enough to follow along with really makes me smile. Each time I’ve been ready to scream today, I’ve found that the only thing that can help me feel better is listening to him hum a few lines. No matter how broken the words, it’s real music to my ears (and most importantly, to my heart!) The strawberry cake has helped too, but more on that later.

All day long today I’ve been noticing Nick sing-a-long with his favorite tv shows and their opening songs as well as sing with me when I start singing things, namely Beatles tunes that he recognizes like “Hey Jude” and his favorite, “Yesterday”. Watching him engage in a song is a big deal to me because my kid is naturally not a singer. He’s not prone to music like his father (and he’s not yet prone to art like me either.) So we enjoy listening to our child sing and memorize lyrics to things, even something as mundane as the intro tune to Wow, Wow Wubbzy.

We know these children who are the same ages as Nick that have been belting out “Twinkle Twinkle” or “Old McDonald” for a way long time. But our kid has always just watched them sing, never tried to join in… Smiled to himself as if they were speaking a different language and he was fascinated by it. Those of you who know Nick well know how observant and inquistive he can get, so I’m sure you know what I mean. It was only this past summer that Nicholas started picking up on his voice and its ability to vocalize in a musical way (See this blog). And shortly after, Michael taught him to sing “Itsy Bitsy Spider” by singing and having Nick repeat each line throughout the song. I remember the first time I heard it all the way through. I seriously shed a tear. His little voice… with his little hand gestures! It still warms my heart, even to this day.

(My kid is cute, therefore I cry with joy at his accomplishments. I’m very emo like that. Deal with it, jerks!!!)

Moving on… Today it was Wubbzy’s intro that Nick was singing with the most, but he also sings along with his favorite movie as of late, Monsters, Inc.  Wubbzy’s song says, “Walden is their friend, he’s really smart. He knows about science and books and art.” The same line for Nicholas is something like… “Hm mmm mmm really smart….. mm mm and books and art!” And in Monsters Inc, the song goes, “She’s out of our hair… and just when I dared to care. She said, ‘Au contraire! You’re my pair of friends. I love you.'” And Nick hums along to say, “She’s… Our hair!… To Care!… Uh-Trare!… Friends, I love you!”

And seriously, how can you help but smile at his efforts?!

Regarding the strawberry cake with cool whip–

Get yourself one package of strawberry cake mix and 12 ounces (1 can) of Sprite. Mix together using hand mixer. No egg or oil necessary. Butter/grease your baking dish(es) and pop the cake into the oven. Bake according to the directions on the box. Let the cakes cool and top them with lite whipped topping. Keep refrigerated.

It is seriously super moist, and it really feeds that sweet tooth when necessary. Oh, and I’m sure it’s great with fresh strawberry slices on top. Mmm.

Leave a Reply

Categories

