Posted by: angelnorman | March 23, 2008

An Easter without Church feels wrong to me.

I don’t know if I have ever missed church on Easter Sunday before in my life, but today, I most certainly missed church in more than just the physical sense of the word. I missed it, I felt like a piece of my heart was missing or something. Mike’s dad got horribly sick last night and had to go to the ER. He is fine, but they decided not to go to church this morning. Well it was 8:30 and we started trying to decide where we would attend– until finally I opted to just stay home, much to Mike’s surprise. “But you love church,” he said. But I was lazy and I didn’t feel like going.

About an hour later, I found myself regretting that I made that decision, but by the time I decided I wanted to go, we really didn’t have time to get ready and even attend the church we’ve been attending in previous weeks either. I was sitting there watching NPT’s special on Johnny Cash’s gospel music, and he was singing “When The Saints Go Marching In”, and I just started bawling my eyes out. Mike was all, “Oh my! What’s wrong?” And I told him I desperately missed church, especially because it reminded me so much of my Papa’s church in East Nashville. I could really hear my Granny singing that, you know, and I felt so moved to hear it again and imagine her singing it beside me in those wooden pews there that it caught me off-guard.

So I got out my Bible and I taught my family what the word of God says about Jesus’s crucifixion and the glorious resurrection. We read the scripture, which of course did not hold Nick’s attention. And then i got out this book that he got a few years back about the Easter story. It was still over his head a bit so I had to use smaller words and make it more age-appropriate, but I didn’t hold back. Nicholas was surely devastated to hear about how the mean men disliked Jesus and they hurt him with the crown of thorns and all. He kept pointing at the pages where the men wore scowls on their faces as they looked upon Jesus, and he would say, “He’s bad” or “He is mean, mommy. He doesn’t like me.” And once, he looked at Jesus’s sad expression and said, “He’s mean” and I had to say that no, this was Jesus and Jesus was never mean. Jesus loves people who don’t even love him.

Mike expressed concern about the violent aspect of what I was teaching our son because was afraid that the part where He was nailed through His hands and feet might be too much for Nick, and while I did teach those things without giving too much detail of course, I did have to ask Mike why he thought it was okay to let him watch movies with violence and murder but a true story, something that happened to a man who readily gave His life so that WE MAY LIVE, could bother him so badly. He saw my point and promptly joined in on helping me not make it too graphic but still tell Nick the truth. The Truth in which we believe. And Nick said, when we reached the end of the book and the illustration showed Jesus in the sky, “Oh, there’s Jesus! He’s in hebben. With God. He libs with Jesus.” It was very cute, and that was the point I hoped he would get.

Jesus rose again. Woot for our best pal Jesus!

So it was a hard Sunday for us to not be in church, to miss out on the worshipping with other believers that I love so much. Michael could on most Sundays probably take or leave church (though he and I did just have a huge discussion a few minutes ago about how much we love the church we’ve been attending and he even referred to it as “our church”– which I loved hearing him say!!!!), but I feel so drawn to walking with God and attending church lately that it makes me ache to not be there. I feel disconnected a bit, I love it that much. 

It was bizarre not to have that on today of all holy days for us. I did enjoy my family though and that meant something to me, to be here and to teach my kid and him finally respond to my teaching. At least we kept God on our minds and Jesus in our hearts. It’s not everything, but it’s something. And hopefully it’ll tie us over till next Sunday– or at least till Wednesday night.

Responses

  1. Good for you! I proudly support your telling Nick the truth. I tell Hunter the truth and I feel good about it!

    Sorry you missed church. I was AT church but have no idea what the message was about!

  2. good for you for telling him the truth! I was at church Easter morning for the first time in a while, but missed most of the message, due to my daughter not paying attention and acting up. You may not have been at Church but the thought was there and ya’ll had your own church meeting. Which was just as good, look what you taught Nick, it’s more than what Abby got out of Easter service. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

