Posted by: angelnorman | April 7, 2008

Warm and inviting: my new master bath

So while Mike and his dad were doing renovations to our dining room this weekend, I ventured out to Wal-Mart to get some new bathroom goodies. I decided then and there to completely change my master bath. I got all the little fun things- the new soap dish, the new toothbrush holder, and then new shower curtain with coordinating towels- but I also got some completely new cabinets thanks to some primer and a can of black paint! Plus, I got all new knobs and hinges and a new light fixture above the mirror (it’s not shown; but if you want, you can see it here). All in all, it cost me just over $200 and a few hours of work– not bad considering that it totally transforms the room in a way that pictures cannot describe. It feels so much warmer, so cozy. It’s very comfy. It’s very me.

And best of all, it’s still neutral enough to help the house sell in case that is ever the path we take.

It went from this:

and this:

to this….

It feels like a totally different room. As soon as I get some artwork up on the walls, a new mirror, and some new laminate (although I’m seriously considering real tile for the bathrooms), it will be picture perfect.

Responses

  1. I really like that. So, how did you do the cabinets? Every single cabinet in my house is stark white and I can’t stand it. I’d love to redo them but they are that laminent stuff. Any suggestions, Martha?

  2. Looks great! Much cozier (looks perfect for a relaxing bath). I’m sure it will continue to look better as you finish the rest of the things you want to do! Be sure to post some pictures after you do artwork, mirrors, etc…

  3. Mandy, my cabinetry wasn’t real wood either. It’s that laminate stuff for me too. I primed it first though with Krylon’s Primer/Sealer in a gray tone and then simply went over it with the black paint. I paid all of $15 for the two and it’s made such a difference. The only thing I must warn you about it this… let that primer dry for at least 4 hours before you put the black on. I made the mistake of not doing this and my cabinetry took forever to not feel “tacky” because it simply would not dry!

    Steph: I sure will keep you all posted! 🙂

  4. well I know who to call when we finally get a house!!! I love it!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

