Posted by: angelnorman | June 3, 2008

i’m listening.

You know those days when God just seems to be all over you? I’m having one of those days today. I have spent the majority of the morning in prayer and study. I have read what feels like all of Romans, all of Ephesians, all of Phillipians, and all of Colossians. Truthfully, it’s not all of those books that I’ve read, but I just seem to be consistently led to those books, particularly Phillipians Chapter 4, verses 4 through 9 and Colossians Chapter 3, verses 12 through17.  I’ve been reading The Power of a Positive Mom by Karol Ladd and those particular verses were part of my selected reading this morning along with the other books mentioned. I’m only about 50 pages in, but already I’ve learned so much. And God just keeps bringing it to light in various ways– this, my child, is what you need to hear. Know it, Angel. Know it well.

I love when He’s all over me like that. It’s far better than feeling removed from Him, at least in my humble opinion.

Anyhow, you should read Karol Ladd’s The Power of a Positive… books if you haven’t yet. She has them for different roles- positive wife, positive woman, positive mom, positive friend, positive teen, etc. I happened to buy a 2-in-1 combo book that contains both The Power of a Positive Mom and The Power of a Positive Woman. So far, I’ve only peeked at the Woman one, though truthfully, that is the one I feel I need the most. While I can always use the reminder to be a more positive mother (and spouse) and to consistently deposit love and encouragement into my child’s love bank accounts, I feel like my real failure is in doing that for the rest of the world around me.

I am more adept at serving others: offering my friends free, no strings attached childcare or listening to them vent about their problems, big or small. Same goes for family. I can help them move, I can offer them money, I can be a shoulder to cry on or a helping hand when the times are tough. If you need help painting your house, I’m your girl. If you need someone to help you plan a wedding, look no further.

But how often do I actually uplift the people in my life? How often do I actually say to them, “Hey, I think you are fabulous and you are such a blessing to me! Each and every day that I think of you, and it IS every single day, I praise God for bringing you into my world.”

How often do any of us hear that from the people in our lives? Perhaps it’s because we’re not saying it as much as we should be, you think?

But don’t get me wrong. I do enjoy the Positive Mom book thus far, and I am glad that I am reading it since it’s so full of great advice for motherhood and beyond. Bonus: every single day’s reading ends with a suggested reading, an assignment to keep you in the practice of being positive (did you know that you have to do something for 21 consecutive days to form a habit?), and an uplifting prayer.

I’m excited to finish these so I can move on to some of her other works. And if you are interested, there’s a Positive Mom website where there is a thought of the day and a devotional.

Leave a Reply

Categories

