Posted by: angelnorman | June 11, 2008

Sleepytime tea revelations

I’m going to do a sort of simple living challenge based off some of the absolute crap that’s been going on in my life these past couple of days. I know it’s probably just Satan trying to get in there and mess up this good thing I’ve got going with the promise of a new future. Well, it’s that and it’s also some hateful remarks by some questionable people whose opinions shouldn’t affect me at all. I have decided though that if I’m going to rise above all the dramatics and mayhem, I’m going to require a new mindset… one that doesn’t involve me getting stressed or anxious or overwhelmed. I’m going to arm myself with simplicity!

According to a website I came across tonight on my quest for simple living tactics, I learned that the path to happiness so to speak can be attained in two easy steps:

  1. Identify what’s most important to you.
  2. Eliminate everything else.

Now that we know what to do, we need to set a plan into action. For me, I think the hardest part is going to be in the identification. I am one of those girls who lets a lot of silly things and even sillier people become important to her, so much so that sometimes I forget what is truly important and what I just feel might should be important, if that makes sense. Here’s a list to help me further. Maybe it will help you too.

I’m starting with 2 to 3 things per week. This week, I’m going to work on de-cluttering my house including my closets, spending time with the people I love, and working on things I love, like writing my novel and doing my Bible studies. Nothing else is going to matter. Plain and simple, it’s being cut from my life. I feel so empowered right now that I could seriously go in my bedroom and purge all of the unworn contents of my closet at this very moment were Mike not trying to sleep.

I’m releasing the stress with every breath! Maybe if I simplify my life a bit, limit my stress around here, and connect with my kindred spirits (seriously girls… coffee soon!), I’ll feel better. And then who knows? Maybe I’ll actually be able to sleep at night instead of blogging and trying to answer all my life’s problems. Sleep! What a concept!

Ems and Ash: Better make that decaf.

Responses

  1. Best of luck to you as you make this new transition. I removed closet items yesterday and did a bunch of ironing. It’s remarkable how good such simple things can make one feel.

  2. I like it and I think I will give this a try as well. I will keep you updated on my progress.

    Love ya,

    Moma

  3. wanna come do my closets when you are done???? hahaha, coffee anytime just call me


Leave a Reply

Categories

