Posted by: angelnorman | June 12, 2008

Slow down, June.

Today I had a rare opportunity to hang out with my gal pal Carrie and her amazing children; I can’t speak for all of them, but Nick and I really had a great time reconnecting with our good friends. It had been much too long since I’d seen them all and my sweet girl Olivia, Carrie’s youngest child and her only daughter, is so old now! I can’t believe that it was 2 whole years ago that I was swaddling her in the hospital room the day she was born and posing for pics while Carrie did some resting. Man! Where does the time go?

We all enjoyed lunch and then had some play time in the pool. Carrie and I caught up on each other’s lives while soaking up some sun (no burns for me this time), and I think both of us enjoyed that the most– the chance to talk. The wonderful thing about a swimming pool is that it doesn’t have to be big or fabulous; as long as it contains enough water to splash in, the kids are content enough to stay entertained for hours! So it gave us a lot of time to sit and talk about the various goings-on in our lives.

It sucks when you’re friends with someone and then all the sudden you fall out of the habit of seeing them regularly. But at least when you finally do get a chance to reconnect, it’s so awesome.

What I really wanted to blog though was this: look how different our little boys are now. They’re so big!

Nick and Nolan, age 2.

Nick and Nolan, age 3.5

Good times. Here’s some more.

P.S. I’m having tummy troubles AGAIN. I think I’ve figured out that every time I eat excessively fatty foods, I get sick. I’m not sure what it is, but my mom sort of put in my head today that it could be my metformin not taking so kindly to my food choices. It’s true that fried food spikes blood sugar levels up, and I did eat an order of potato wedges from JitB. So I need to become super proactive about my health and stop with all this nonsense to see if maybe that is indeed why it seems like sometimes several times a week, my belly aches! I was fine till this morning, that’s all I know.

Responses

  1. I’m glad you had a good day, except the tummy trouble! It is always good to reconnect with friends! Cute pics!

  2. boo! I am sorry we missed this!

  3. Sorry we missed it too! Gosh, Nolan looks so much like Zachary now!


Leave a Reply

Categories

