Posted by: angelnorman | June 16, 2008

Father’s Day Continued

I wanted to share a recipe I came across this past week for homemade soft pretzels. If you are like me and are a fan of soft pretzels but not necessarily a fan of all that kosher salt on top (or if you want a different flavor), a good idea is to make your own. I made just over a dozen using this recipe, and I did half in cinnamon and sugar and the other half in a light sprinkling of normal table salt and garlic powder. It sort of went with my baseball theme for Father’s Day– you know, it’s one of those ballpark foods, and I had bought baseball game tix for us for this Friday. So it was all nice and theme-y, just like I like it. 

And Mike can attest that the cinnamony sugary pretzels were the perfect complement to his cup of coffee on Father’s day morn.

 I followed the recipe in the link above, only slightly changed how much of what type of flour I used. This is how I worked it.

1 1/2 tsp live active yeast
1 1/2 cups 110 degree water
1/2 tsp dark brown sugar
1/4 tsp or so table salt

Mix these things together and let sit 5 minutes.

3 cups All Purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour

Stir this in and knead 5 minutes. Then cover with a damp towel, plop into a greased bowl, and let sit an hour in a warm place. I was doing laundry so I put my bowl on top of the running dryer.

After the hour long wait, you are ready to make some pretzels! Your dough should have risen beautifully. Preheat oven to 500 degrees. I divided my dough into 17 (random, I know) “balls” and then rolled the individual balls into “ropes” (or snakes as Nick calls them.) I then twisted them into standard pretzel shape as best I could– some were far prettier than others– and dipped them in a bowl that held 1/4 cup of warm water that had 1 whole tablespoon of baking soda mixed in. That apparently acts as a leavener and gives the pretzels its brown color as it bakes.

Bake for a mere 8 minutes or until golden.

I immediately brushed on the butter (or actually I melted a lot of butter and then dipped my pretzels in to make sure to coat it all quickly) and did not wait for the pretzels to cool. After the butter dip, I chunked them onto plates that held my seasonings and just did a general coating. They were superb, if I do say so myself. I HATE baking normally, but this recipe was way easy and fun.

And the garlicky ones are fabulous– I think it’s on Pepper Paints where I originally found the recipe and she suggested that you serve the garlicky ones with marinara. I cannot wait to try this. These things are so incredibly versatile, and you can make them in many ways to fit dietary needs and restrictions I’m sure without comprimising any flavor (though I’ve heard all whole wheat flour makes them denser). And it’s nice that you can control the seasonings because nothing ruins the pretzels you buy at concession stands or Auntie Anne shops worldwide more than too much salt, IMO.

I’m going to make these pretzels all the time now. Maybe they’ll eventually look beautiful, hehe. 

Responses

  1. yummy…garlic, basil and dried tomato sounds good

  2. Looks Awesome~!

  3. shea: you’re so right that does sound good. mmm. let’s make some, hehe.


Leave a Reply

Categories

