Posted by: angelnorman | June 17, 2008

Housework, yardwork, and momwork… Oh my.

The hardest part about not having my husband here with me these past two days was not being able to just pick up the phone and call him whenever I want. Or perhaps it was just that whenever I did, he was not answering. Or maybe it was whenever he called me, he was not acting at all like he was missing me as much as I was missing him.

Men.

Somehow, I managed. It’s a miracle that I found time to even enjoy myself between: endless piles of laundry; cutting the grass; a workout at the Y with Ems; finding out that the recycleables in my kitchen were attracting ants; my dishwasher not working properly which forced me to hand wash three sinkfuls last night; and restraightening the living room after this whirlwind weekend.

I am never away from Mike. He is always with me, and on most days, I’m living for 5 o’clock when he’ll walk in that door and save me from the insanity of housework and screaming kids. Okay, kid. But sometimes it seems like he’s more than one child because he’s quite a handful some days. Anyways, I felt reassured in my abilities as the woman of this household– the do-it-all and don’t even blink an eye woman. It gave me a confidence like I’ve not had since Mike was in school and times were tough, a feeling of, “You can do this, all by yourself! You don’t need anyone.” This is not to say that I’d choose to be alone or to go at this parenting thing by myself. And I’m not making light of the incredible job that single parents have on their plates. I’m just saying that I thought it was going to be much tougher and I was surprised that I handled the change as well as I did. Me, the girl who rarely takes any sort of change in stride, made it through to the other side.

But I do miss him, even if he was sitting in the hotel sports bar drinking with his new boss when I tried to call him to tell him goodnight. He eventually called me back and even listened to me complain about the dishwashing. It’s times like these- when your husband goes on a sudden, unexpected trip and leaves you dealing with YOUR (the whole unit’s) every day life by yourself- when you realize you take things, namely him, for granted. There’s something reassuring about his presence each and every day and he’s definitely missed when he’s away from home, that is for certain. I’m sure it’s just God’s way of reminding me of this before Mike comes back and starts working from home, like He’s giving me this lesson so that I can fall back on these feelings of incompleteness I have right now whenever I start to complain that Mike is here too much in the coming months, ha!

I’m also slightly jealous still that instead of going to Atlanta, I was here taking care of the house, the yard, and most importantly, the kid. I wanted so badly to go. But a special thanks to Ems and Michelle (and Shauna and Lindsay and any other familiar faces I seen or heard from yesterday!) for helping fill my day with happiness. It was good to be surrounded with other people I love too, no matter how brief!

Responses

  1. I hope his time away goes fast..absence makes the heart grow fonder as you know…so I hope that your homecoming is amazing!

  2. Well.. not your homecoming..but Mike’s…you catch my drift. 😉

  3. I don’t know if I could function without Matt being here to help me with the 3 nut jobs that I call kids. lol
    I would be so jealous if Matt too was in Atlanta sipping on a strong one.
    Oh we just joined the Y today! Going in tomorrow morning for my MicroFit assessment thingy do. They will tell me how fat I am, even though I already know. haha
    When do you gals go to the Y?? DO you do any of the group workouts??


Leave a Reply

Categories

