Posted by: angelnorman | June 18, 2008

Things.

So a few highlights from this week:

Went to the Y on Monday… and I learned that I am down 6 lbs since the last time I was there. I am pretty sure this has a lot to do with my fast food or excessive sugar fasting. I’m no longer eating McD’s twice a week. I have however eaten pizza three times in the last week in various ways. It’s been crazy though, like I’ve been out and about and haven’t had the opportunity to eat the healthiest, but I’m working on it regardless. I was just proud of that down 6 lbs since last I checked business.

I rescheduled my Dr’s appt for this morning to next Monday and to a different doctor entirely. I want to talk to my ob/gyn about the metformin and my stomach issues as well as fertility options. My Step-MIL was kind enough to offer to take Nick for me if I went on today ’cause she’s off on Wednesdays, but Monday is the earliest appt I can get so I’m just going to take him with me. They haven’t seen him in awhile anyways, and this is the same doctor who delivered him so I sort of like it when I take him up there and she marvels at how healthy he looks now in comparison to when she brought him into this world 2 months early. I think doctors need to see proof of how awesome they are sometimes.

So instead, I’m going to a playdate and gonna hang around town this morning. Going tonight to my Step-MIL’s to make myself a lapdesk for my bible studying.

Speaking fo Bible study, last night we went to Mayfield Rehab Center to bring the Word of God to some of the interested folks there. All yesterday afternoon, I kept thinking to myself: *sigh* What have I gotten myself into? Why do I keep signing myself up for things, and especially when I hate nursing homes and seeing people in that sort of circumstance? That’s really lame of me, I know, but you don’t understand the awful pain I feel when I go into a nursing home. When I was a kid, my great-grandparents were in nursing homes and I remember walking past all the rooms and seeing lonely people who seem forgotten by life, with nothing to do all day but think about how their family has just left them there, just waiting to die, you know? And it tears me up to even think about it!

So I didn’t know what to expect as I’d never done much of anything like that. We got there, though, and there were 4 of us from Stonebrook’s women ministry who were there to help. My Step-MIL was the one leading the bible study, and I was mainly standing in the back pouring sugar free fruit punch or cutting cake. Okay, and I was also the one in the back occasionally shedding a tear. (It didn’t help that one of them had the same haircut and the same build as my granny who passed away when I was preggy.)

It was just so awesome… I can’t do it justice in this blog. I guess I just expected them to come in and be quiet and listen and then go back to their rooms, because you know they were just signed up and chosen by the caretakers. And as they started coming in, not a one of them seemed happy to be there. But they weren’t quiet at all and it was soon evident that they wanted to talk about the Lord. Who doesn’t? He is so good!

They had opinions and questions– Did God mourn for Jesus like we mourn for lost children? Did God really forsake Jesus? Would He ever forsake us? Things like that. Tami, my Step-MIL was an awesome sight to behold as she answered these questions for them. I couldn’t help but feel emotional to even be a part of it all.

And when I was done, I had a lady in the hall start talking to me. So I stopped what i was doing and had a convo with her.

Her: Have you ever heard of anyone with a large intestine?
Me: Well we all have large intestines, but are you having problems with yours?
Her: No, we don’t all have enlarged intestines!
Me: Oh, honey, I’m sorry. I thought you said large intestines. You’re right, we don’t all have enlarged ones.
Her (snickering at my hearing issue): Well they say I need surgery for it to remove some, but I’m so old that I might die if they do surgery!

So I launched into the story of Nick, of course. And it was the first time in a long time that his story had more of a purpose behind it, you know? It was like this thing that happened to us as a family that we could then testify to others about in their times of need. But it’s been so long since I’ve shared that testimony with anyone, about how God can do miracles and how not all surgery is as scary as it sounds. About how faith brings you through things you were sure would have killed you. About how if I watched my child struggle to live, I really can accomplish anything else. Little stuff should never bring me down because I’ve been through more big stuff than most other people and look at me– I’m fine. He’s fine. We’re all fine.

And she listened and then I offered her to come into our bible study, although it was over by this time, and get some refreshments. It was just a wonderful experience. I’m going back in July. I can’t stop now, I’m too attached.

Responses

  1. Sounds awesome! I do believe sometimes we have to go through hard times to get where we need to be with the Lord. He is so AWESOME and I love him very much.

  2. Girl, that is awesome. Congrats on the weight loss and on finding a way to reach out. Helping others really makes you feel useful and worthy, huh?


Leave a Reply

Categories

