Posted by: angelnorman | August 20, 2008

Small semi-update

Still don’t know much about the x-ray results. The tests were run at 6 am, on schedule, but we still haven’t heard anything about them, and it’s now nearing 10 am.

The NG tube remains in place, still suctioning bile and such off his belly. He is trying to get some rest despite the nurses’ best attempts to thwart his sleep with their constant vitals-checking and IV-replacing. He is uncomfortable for sure, but the good news is that he has had a bowel movement this morning and he’s urinated twice, which is more than he did all day yesterday. So we’re very thankful that something is working.

This hospital is a freaking joke. In the ER yesterday, our x-ray results were being discussed with us an hour at the most after having the test. We’ve seen no doctors this morning, except for an attending surgeon right after the x-rays were taken who came in to press on Nick’s belly with an entourage of students. I am growing increasingly impatient with the lack of answers. Honestly, I want to rip somebody’s head off. Either he’s having surgery or he’s not, people, just tell me already so that 1) I can alert my family and friends properly and 2) so that we can get the ball rolling with maybe giving him a drink of water or letting him have a popsicle again like they tried to get him to take while in the ER yesterday. We just want to know something, you know. We’re trying to remain positive and such, but it’s difficult when the nurses just look at me like I have a third eye growing on my face everytime I ask a question and no one else seems to want to come in for a chat. This is very different than our treatment yesterday.

Breathe in and breathe out. That’s all I can do. That, and of course, pray for sanity.

Responses

  1. Crazy Doctors..sometimes they can be so insensitive it seems. I know it’s your job..but the parent thing is our job right now..let us know!!!

  2. Ahhhh, no answers. It’s the worst. I’m praying for Nick. And you. Let me know if I can help somehow.


Leave a Reply

Categories

