Posted by: angelnorman | August 27, 2008

Yay for Today

This morning, for the first time in the week that we’ve been here, I heard a doctor use the word “home” in a conversation with Michael and I.

I can’t even begin to share with you how much I’ve been looking forward to this. It was a magical moment, to say the least.

Unfortunately, home is not today. Home may be tomorrow, and it may be Friday. We will be there soon enough.

For now, though, I’m praying for poop. That’s right, you heard (read) correctly. I’m praying for poop.

The new plan of action is to cut back on our lipids and TPN (that would be his liquid food that is going through his PICC line) in an effort to make Nicholas hungrier. Then they’re also going to administer a suppository for what they feel is surely constipation. They were way impressed with his liquid intake and urine output yesterday, but the doctor this morning said that perhaps he isn’t eating because he is feeling legitimately full and bloated thanks to being constipated.

That’s when he said that we were going home soon, and my heart just about lept out of my chest. It sang out, “Oh happy day!” and made me want to dance a little jig. Seriously. I’m so ready to get out of here. There’s no definite timeline yet; it all depends on when Nick poops a decent amount that shows there’s no back-up, no more issues. But they haven’t even hinted at home until today, so it was so nice to hear that word coming from the mouth of someone in a white coat.

Totally made my day.

Responses

  1. wooo-weeeeee….poop prayers are being placed!!!!!

  2. I love praying for poop…we have plenty in our home that maybe you could borrow and put in Nick’s bed..?? LOL

  3. starting to poop chant, toga party style…poop poop poop poop ( sorry i live across the street from frat row and thats all i have heard sinc school started)


Leave a Reply

Categories

