Posted by: angelnorman | September 13, 2008

To the woman who brought me life.

 

There’s a special woman in my life celebrating her 47th birthday today. I’d like to publicly thank her for all the wonderful things she’s done for us over the years and wish her a happy birthday.

July 1981

this picture always makes me want to cry.

Thank you for always being there for me.

Thank you for always making sure I’d righted the wrongs I’d committed.

Thank you for rarely letting me get away with anything.

Thank you for teaching me morals and values and making sure I went to church even when you couldn’t.

Thank you for always making sure I knew I was loved.

Thank you for making sure I dressed nicely– I won’t comment on any hairdo’s you insisted I get though. 🙂

Thank you for making sure I had a relationship with your parents, even though they weren’t the most “cool”, youthful grandparents– and even though my cousins on your side of the family were too old to play with me– you made sure that I had a good relationship with your family too and I appreciate that.

Thank you for putting up with a lot of crap from my Dad. I know you were not innocent in some of the things that were said, some of the things you did. But Moma, you put up with so much crap from him and got little respect in return. Thank you so much for not allowing it to beat you down.

Thank you for allowing Granny to be like a second mom to me.

This is the part where I remind you that we should thank Granny for all those fights she broke up between you and I simply by saying to me, “Angel, she is your mother and she loves you. Now you go in there right now, give her a kiss and hug, and tell her you are sorry and you don’t want to keep fighting.” She was awesome.

So are you.

Thank you for being there for Mike and I, for always supporting our relationship except for that one week in the very beginning where you weren’t sure you liked him very much. Thank you for treating him like he has always been a part of our family. He loves you so much.

Thank you for helping us financially, even when you yourself were struggling. Thank you for not taking it too personal when I got so upset that you brought us groceries that time. I was too proud.

Thank you for always listening to me, even though sometimes I have to make you.

Thank you for being aware of my needs even before I say it outloud. Mothers always know, huh?

Thank you for being active in Nicholas’s life. Your house is the only grandparents’ house he ever wants to go to… maybe it’s because you’re always calling him, checking on him and trying to get him to talk to you on the phone. Maybe it’s because he sees how much I love you. Or maybe it’s just that he knows you love him, unconditionally, and that you are like a second mother to him.

Thank you for not leaving my side, even when you are sick and run-down. Thank you for coming to the hospital every single day to make sure we were okay, that Nick was okay, that I had everything I needed.

Thank you for being my friend. Thank you for always offering to take Nicholas for the night so that Mike and I can get a break, just a moment alone that doesn’t involve making pb&j sandwiches or playing I-Spy. Thank you for loving to do those things in our absence for Nick. I know he appreciates it.

Thank you for the occasional pack of fruit snacks for breakfast. Thank you for having fun with Nick and spoiling him rotten, even though I get on to you for it.

And thank you for making sure Nicholas goes to church every now and then 🙂

Thank you for being you.

Happiest of birthdays, Mommy.

I love you.

Responses

  1. wow..your mom looks so beautiful! In all those pics. Awe..our birthday’s are so close together and I didnt’ even know!

    Happy Birthday Tammy! Thanks for giving us Angel!

  2. You are so lucky. My dad was just three years younger when I was BORN, and now I am your age but having to deal with so much in regards to prepping myself to lose a parent. Be thankful. Oh, and happy birthday to you mom!

  3. Thank you all very much. I had a great time on my birthday I spent it with Angel and Nicholas. I couldn’t have ask for a better day! I am so blessed to have Angel. When I read this of course I cried. It was the most sweetest thing I could have got for my birthday. Thank you all for being there for Angel as well. Your friendships are very important to her.

    We all love each of you!

    Gran(aka Tammy-Moma)


Leave a Reply

Categories

