Posted by: angelnorman | September 25, 2008

September 25th

Today I am thankful for:

My husband and his job, without which we would surely suffer. I am most thankful that he works from home, that his income is more than enough to pay current bills and pay off existing debt, that we don’t really want for anything but that which we think we need.

The money we have, though it’s not much. Seriously, I have less than $50 to last me till tomorrow. And I need gas. And bread. I was sad just yesterday that I couldn’t even justify the cost of going out to have coffee with my friends– and I worried about it today, as I had plans with yet another friend to meet over coffee– until I remembered that I have perfectly tasty coffee right here at home. If my friends want to see me, they’ll come here and my Folgers will be enough for them. The money we do have has paid our bills and helped us to break free from a huge chunk of debt so far this month. I think that’s pretty impressive, and I am grateful.

Family, the closeness of my family, the bonds that cannot be broken. I am so thankful that my family is near me, that my parents are moving even nearer to me, that I am surrounded by my loved ones. I am thankful that one call to my sister or to my mother is all it takes to make things feel right. I am thankful that, though not all of my familial relationships are good ones, I have more than enough good relationships in my family to outweigh those nasty ones. Whether it be email correspondence with my aunt Vicki or a phone call to my mother-in-law, I thoroughly enjoy the majority of my family and spending time with them. Not everyone can say the same thing. I am truly blessed. I have the best family in the world, I’m convinced.

A clean house. I worked my hiney off on Tuesday to make sure that today, I could enjoy a clean house, candles lit, TV off, email unread. And thanks to some yummy Yankee Candle goodness in every tart burner I own, I’ve achieved Thursday relaxation nirvana. Despite the fact that sometimes I think to myself that my home is too small or not cute enough, that I need to do this or that, this little cottage is mine and I am so thankful for it. Plus, the house note is way good on my wallet in comparison.

My pets. I love Roscoe and Alex (95% of the time- HA!), and today there is something so beautiful to me in watching them lie in the patches of sunlight on our carpet. I have the blinds open and the sun is pouring in, making bright spots on the floor where it’s really warm. Perfect spot for my doggies to nap. Aww.

My best friends. I am particularly fond of the Momtourage (Ash and Ems) and my close friends Shea and Jen. I am so grateful for the emails, the e-cards, the phone conversations, and the plans we make to see each other– even if we can’t always make these plans work. At least I have these ladies in my life to offer me respite from the normal day-to-day. They are the sweetest bunch of ladies ever.

Inspiration. I am so thankful for images, crafts, people, pictures, etc that put my mind into creative motion, that stirs withn me a deep desire to surround myself with beauty and warmth. I am REALLY thankful for Better Homes and Gardens and Martha Stewart, particularly this bit of goodness from the latter 😀

My kid’s school, which allows me to have my cake and eat it too.

Cake. And more recently, pie. Apple pie.

And this quote:

“…we do not have to accept the world as it is… we can remake the world as it should be.”
-Barack Obama

Responses

  1. And we love you back….HUG HUG HUG.

    P.S. That video you posted on “Friday” HAHAHAHAAH I can totally see Nick doing that!!!

  2. Amen, sister. We’re all feeling the cruch these days!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

