Posted by: angelnorman | October 8, 2008

Recipe: Creamed Chicken

This is how I make Creamed Chicken. My MIL might faint if she ever reads this because it’s not the same as her recipe, this I know. I think I leave out something important– but you know what? It’s good enough. If Mike and I can eat it this way, maybe so can you.

Ingredients
1 stick butter (that’s 1/2 cup; memorize this)
1/2 cup flour
2 cups milk

This makes your basic white (or in Italian cooking, bechamel) sauce, which is basically just white gravy. A little salt and pepper, maybe some sausage drippings for good measure, and it tastes just like the gravy my Granny used to make for my biscuits in the morning when I was a wee little lass. The thickness depends on the amount of milk and flour you use; obviously you don’t want to put gravy into your baked ziti dish, so you’d use more milk in that case. But for the purpose of making what is basically chicken gravy with a can of corn in it, my recipe will do.

 You will also need:
2 chicken breasts, cooked, and cut up into cubes
1 can whole kernel corn, drained or 10-15 ounces frozen corn
A whole mess of cornbread (I use Jiffy corn muffin mix, which we bake in cake pans) to pour your Creamed chicken on.

1. Begin by melting 1 stick of butter in a large pot. When the butter is melted, stir in the flour with a spoon, making sure it absorb all the liquidy butter. Let the buttery flour cook for a minute or two, stirring constantly.
2. Add your milk slowly, stirring constantly to prevent lumps. Let it warm up on medium heat.
3. Placed cubed cooked chicken and corn into pot. Stir, heat through. Serve over cornbread.

Fast and cheap, and really, about as Southern as you can get. Make sure you salt and pepper this dish, as well. It’s not very good without some seasonings.

It’s a good dish to double up on, as well. I doubled just the gravy in this recipe last night and it made a huge batch for our dinner then and even today.

Responses

  1. Thanks for posting this, Angel. This si something that I might really like, as opposed to my mom’s chicken gravy. Everyone in my family chows down on hers like it is the greatest thing ever, but I can’t stand it b/c it includes onions and sounds completely different. Hers is served over rice and the gravy is light brown.

  2. This one is white mostly, except for the yellow corn, and any pepper that you add to it 🙂 Like I said, it’s pretty bland without the spices, so I would suggest several dashes each of garlic salt and black pepper, or maybe some sort of all purpose seasoning that contains all that plus onion flavoring? It’s all a matter of personal choice. You can’t lose though with normal salt and pepper.

    This meal is probably one of my husband’s favorite. His stepmom makes it quite a bit, and of course, mine could never compare to hers. But it comes close, and it does well when we just need some comfort food. It’s a great comfort food recipe, if you ask me. It’s simple and it’s warm, and it’s tasty.

    Originally the recipe calls for peas instead of corn. I’ve made it that way, too, and it’s very good. Mike prefers corn though, so that’s how I make it most often. The peas are more for Nick and I, since both of us love peas very much. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

