Posted by: angelnorman | October 15, 2008

You just got to be free!

When Nicholas was about 2.5 or so, I was blown away by his ability to recall his favorite Beatles songs and more specifically, that he’d ask me to sing them for him. “Yesterday”, “Hey Jude”, and several others were some of the only songs I’d sing to him while he was still living in my womb. Over the years, they’ve become bedtime songs, or songs whispered in the middle of the night after a bad dream, or songs I’ve sung after surgery. I recall with great pleasure the day I figured out that his demand for me to sing “Lebby” was in fact him asking me to sing “Let It Be”. Likewise, I still smile when I think of how, for the longest time, he referred to “Yesterday” as “Shadow”.

He’s been listening to one of my Beatles’ greatest hits cd every night at bedtime, and I can tell that he’s really been absorbing the music because suddenly he’s singing Beatles songs all the time. The other day we were at my mom’s and he randomly walked up to me and said, “Hey, do you remember that Beatles song that goes, ‘We all live in a yellow submarine’?” I said that yes of course I did, although I’ve never sung it to him. “That’s a funny song,” he replied and then went on about his business.

Tonight was the best though. We were driving home from dinner and I was asking him which of the Beatles songs were his fave. He was being a pill and saying he didn’t like “no songs ever” and such, so I just started singing them.

Me, after singing many songs: “What about this one? Come together, right now, over me!”
(Imagine Mike doing an impression of the drums and music in between.)
Nick: “No Daddy, you didn’t do his noise. They say, ‘Shoop’ then the music goes.”

Duh.

Mike… You got schooled.

The point I’m making: I have succeeded as a mother.

Responses

  1. awesome, nick. way awesome.

  2. “Nothing’s Gonna Change My World” …..kids will always be smarter than parents.

  3. that’s awesome! I think it’s the same proudness I feel when Abby starts singing Elvis!

  4. Charlene: I imagine it’s exactly the same 🙂 Aren’t kids great? I mean, I’m all for him being his own person and having his own likes and dislikes, but on the other hand, I really think it’s fabulous that he’s so much like ME! Haha. And on a related note… The other day he said, “Where’s my Optimus Prime? DUH, it’s right here in front of me.” (Insert slight pause) “Big fat duh.” Typically, we don’t allow the word fat in this house, but he TOTALLY got that from me– I always say “big fat duh”, espeically to Mike, lol. I had to laugh at him before telling him I’d like him to just say duh and not “big fat”. 😉

    Jen: Agreed.

    Ems: Also agreed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

