Posted by: angelnorman | October 30, 2008

Thankful Thursday

I just ate 4 pixy sticks and I want to die– but I’m not here to talk about that. I’m here to journal about the things for which I am grateful, the people for whom I thank God daily, and to report on how blessed I am feelin’. I got lots to say today, which is awesome because it means that life is good.

1. I am thankful for God the Father. That is the way I address Him now, in case you’re wondering. He is God the Father from whom all blessings flow, and He is so awesome!

1a. I have been thinking a lot lately about how my decision to not attend church is affecting me and I think that I might be looking for a church home again real soon. I want to go somewhere not contemporary though, just for a change of pace. I want to go where we sing hymnals and where the congregation is on the smallish side so that I can actually get to know people. I’m looking to my roots, I guess, to the church I came from, as inspiration for what I want out of that experience; that leads me to what I am most thankful for regarding my beliefs: I am thankful that I was raised in such a lovely church. I am thankful that I get to choose my beliefs, and choose what church I want to attend or whether I want to attend at all. I am so grateful that I can take the time to find what I want.

2. I am thankful for many good Halloweens in the past.

And I am grateful for another wonderful Halloween this year!

3. I am so thankful for my mom and step-dad living closer. I like seeing them more often.

4. I am thankful for my friends.

For the past 4 years, I have been enjoying the best friends in the world! I could not imagine being without them, these friends are always there for me. I love them like they’re my sisters, and I love their kids as if they were my own flesh and blood. I just think the world of them, and best of all, I know without a doubt that they love me and my family as much as we love and adore them. They never fail to make me feel that way anyways.

I feel all emo now.

5. I am so thankful for my playgroup. I have been in my playgroup for two years now and I am lovin’ the way that it is always growing and changing. I used to scoff at the idea of a playgroup, and the word “playdate” just sounded, well, retarded (only being honest). But now I just couldn’t imagine the last two years without them all lifting me up and being there for us in our dark times. I am so grateful that I have a support network like them to reassure me that me not wanting to play every second of every day with my kid is normal or offering me advice on potty-training. 🙂 And I’m grateful I have an organized activity planned for me to attend if I choose every single Wednesday!

They are the best group of women I’ve ever met, and I’m really enjoying meeting all the new gals who’ve recently come to join us too. Yay for new friends!

6. I am thankful that Halloween is almost over. Really, we have too much candy and we haven’t even made it to the actual day or trick-or-treating! I am thankful for the amazing fun we’ve had this past week, though, which wouldn’t have happened were it not for Halloween.

7. I am thankful that Nicholas is able to still play and that he’s not too sick. He gets sickly every year around Halloween and his birthday. I am thankful school is out today and next Tuesday, though, so we’ll have plenty of time to take it easy and recover from our busy Halloween week!

8. I am thankful I live in a country where my voice is heard, where I have the freedom to choose how my government is ran, where I have the freedom to change my world when it needs changin’. Republicans, look away now because I’d also like to add that: I am so thankful for Barack Obama. I am so thankful for Joe Biden! I am so thankful for the way Mr. Obama chooses to stand strong in the face of adversity, with rumors flying off the handle about his religious beliefs, his background, his family, his people, and his abilities to lead. I am so thankful that he is taking that risk, that he is there to shake things up and make some real change, and that he does it all because he’s had enough of the BS. I am so thankful for him, people! You don’t even know how much I love this man and his wife. And I am so thankful that Mr. Biden is so qualified to do whatever we need him to do whenever we need it.

9. And lastly, I’ll tell you this. I am SO thankful for Nicholas’s little friends and how much they love one another. I just learned that this little guy in the hat (in the picture below) drew a picture of his family at school and included my Nicholas in the picture. How heartwarming is that?

Responses

  1. Awesome.

  2. I know!


Leave a Reply

Categories

