Posted by: angelnorman | December 14, 2008

The spark.

This is all that was left of my snow this morning. There is even less now. Sad.

Bye bye snow.

In other news, I’ve been obsessed with scouring the web tonight in an effort to find the perfect homemade gifts for my cousins and aunts. I try every year, when I’m able to afford it, to either make or bake something for my extended family, i.e. the Christmas trees out of tiny clay pots. It’s just something I want to do. We don’t typically exchange gifts outside of the “Dirty Santa” game we play (which I’ve never played, honestly), but I really enjoy giving them a little something. Even if they go home and trash it, ha.

Actually, my cousin Rachel totally made my day when she told me recently that she loved her Christmas tree o’ pots so much that she kept it out way past Christmas, on her desk for all to see. Sweet girl, that one. Now I’m confident that whatever I make her, she will love, and that in turn gives me a stronger desire to make, with my own two hands, something for all of them. It makes me want to give more… I wish I could afford (and had the time and skill necessary) to knit them all lovely afghans for Christmas. How awesome would that be to gift? Personally, I’d FLIP OUT if someone knitted me something so large and intricate. Be still, my beating heart! I would love to be able to do something like that. Anyhow, I digress.

This year, I’m hoping to do something with these tiny jars Michelle’s mom passed on to me… either by filling them with a cocoa mix or a bath salt/scrub. They’re kinda small though so it would be like a one application scrub, and that’s no fun… unless I give them two or three different scents in different jars. Hmm. I do have quite the stash of tiny jars now, and that would surely get rid of a few.

Needless to say, I’ve been all over Martha’s site as well as HGTV’s and DIY’s in the hopes of finding something clever to do with all of this newfound inspiration. I’m really liking this.

However, the best part about all this, and the point I’m getting at, is that, after what feels like months, I have finally been bitten by the crafting bug. Sure, it’s 12 days before Christmas, but at least I have the desire to create again. My muse, whatever it is, has returned to inspire me in finishing up these Christmas gifts.

I so wanted to have a Holly Jolly Cocoa Christmas party this month, but it doesn’t look like I’m going to have the time. How sad! I’ve been coaxed into hosting again for New Year’s Eve, a game night– go figure– complete with appetizer buffet. I am actually really excited about hosting that. If you want to come over, let me know. We’ll be here… with booze! FREE booze! So come. Besides… You know you don’t want to miss me getting sick after two drinks.

Responses

  1. New Year’s Eve party! Weeee!!!! I just pray that I’m out and about by then.

    Glad your muse has returned. I am still feeling inspired to create but too tired to do it. And even too pooped to post about what I have made on my blog. Boooo. So, please know that eventually you will have your heart filled with crafty goodness at my blog… but it might not be until next year some time!

  2. Sweet, Mandy! You’ll have to come over if you’re feeling up to it. It won’t be anything special, just a bunch of food I’ll regret eating and games I won’t win. 🙂 But hey, I love getting together with people and entertaining and stuff… even if my house is tiny and there’s hardly any room to sit. 😛 Everyone usually has a decent enough time when they come over, so I figure that’s all that really matters, right? Haha. We’d love to have you guys over though if you’re up for it!

    And yes, I will need some crafty goodness inspo to “feed” on sooooon! I’d love to see what you’ve created 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

