Posted by: angelnorman | December 22, 2008

Who are you and what have you done with my child?

Nicholas: Are we going here? (points at Publix) Is this where we’re going?
Me: Yes. We’re going to Publix.
Nicholas: Are you just running in?
Mike: Yes, I am just buying diet coke.
Nicholas: Can I go?
Mike: No, baby, I’ll only be a minute.
Nicholas: Please!
Mike: No I think you should stay in the car where it’s warm.
Nicholas: But we could go as a family!

We fell (and hard) for that, too. We all three bundled up and went into Publix for diet coke.

***

Nicholas starts coughing uncontrollably in the car. Finally he groans, “Ugh… I wish I could get better.”

Breaks. My. Heart.

***

Me, in the office after hearing Nick coughing in the living room: Nick, are you okay?
Nick: Yes, Mommy.
Me: Okay, I was just checking.
Nick: Thanks, Mommy. I love you.
Me, suspicious of his niceties: Do you need anything?
Nick: Yes I do.
Me: Well what do you need?
Nick: A hug.

***

Nick, talking to my stepdad on the phone: What are you doin?
Diddy says something, then asks what we’re doing.
Nick: My daddy’s getting gas. *Pause* No! *Pause* Gas! Daddy’s getting gas! (I can only imagine what my stepdad was thinking he was saying.)
My stepdad says something else.
Nick: He’s in the store. *Pause* Yes, the store. And we’re just kind of like, standing here.

We were sitting in the car, so I’m not sure what that was about. I laughed though.

Leave a Reply

Categories

