Posted by: angelnorman | January 20, 2009

Favorite. Politician. Ever.

I decided to celebrate the inauguration twice– once in a serious way and once in a fun way. Here, for your reading/viewing pleasure, my favorite speech (roast?) by my favorite man that isn’t related to me, President (woot) Barack Obama. I don’t see how anyone could ever say politicians don’t have senses of humor!

“Who is Barack Obama? Contrary to the rumors you have heard, I was not born in a manger. I was actually born on Krypton and sent here by my father Jor-El to save the Planet Earth. Many of you know that I got my name, Barack, from my father. What you may not know is Barack is actually Swahili for ‘That One.’ And I got my middle name from somebody who obviously didn’t think I’d ever run for president. If I had to name my greatest strength, I guess it would be my humility. Greatest weakness, it’s possible that I’m a little too awesome.” –at the Al Smith Dinner

Watch the video here.

More fun quotes from Barack:

“That’s what he talked about yesterday, ‘I want to drill here. I want to drill now.’ I don’t know where he was standing. I think he was in a building somewhere.” –on John McCain’s energy plan

“Three words: Vice President Oprah” –the #1 item from Barack Obama’s Top Ten Campaign Promises, which he presented on the Letterman show

“Look, when I was a kid, I inhaled frequently. That was the point.”

***

hope play_w2(“H0273600”)

 (hp)

v. hoped, hop·ing, hopes

v.intr.

1. To wish for something with expectation of its fulfillment.

2. Archaic To have confidence; trust.

v.tr.

1. To look forward to with confidence or expectation.

2. To expect and desire.
n.

1. A wish or desire accompanied by confident expectation of its fulfillment.

2. Something that is hoped for or desired.

3. One that is a source of or reason for hope.

4. often Hope Christianity The theological virtue defined as the desire and search for a future good, difficult but not impossible to attain with God’s help.

5. Archaic Trust; confidence.

“Hope – Hope in the face of difficulty. Hope in the face of uncertainty. The audacity of hope! In the end, that is God’s greatest gift to us, the bedrock of this nation. A belief in things not seen. A belief that there are better days ahead.”

“America is a land of big dreamers and big hopes. It is this hope that has sustained us through revolution and civil war, depression and world war, a struggle for civil and social rights and the brink of nuclear crisis. And it is because our dreamers dreamed that we have emerged from each challenge more united, more prosperous, and more admired than before.”

Hope is the backbone of this country. Hope is what drives me as a person, as a mother, as a daughter, as a child of God. Hope is exactly the sort of change this country needs– the idea that we can grow stronger, better, more peaceful, happier. Look at how far we’ve come!
 

Dr. King once said, quoting a prayer by a pastor who was at one time a slave,  “Lord, we ain’t what we want to be; we ain’t what we ought to be; we ain’t what we gonna be, but, thank God, we ain’t what we was.” 

 

Personally I feel that, for me, that one prayer says it all. Amen!

Responses

  1. amen-sista


Leave a Reply

Categories

