Posted by: angelnorman | February 9, 2009

who said life was fair?

Meh.

What’s in a plan anyways?

In the pic above, you might see the very faint line indicating a positive result in the first pregnancy test. I took this test Sunday morning and when it wasn’t positive in three minutes, I threw it in the trash. Mike noticed it Sunday night and was all, “WTF?! ANGEL! Come here!” So we inspected the test, consulted the leaflet and read how results after ten minutes couldn’t be trusted. Still, we were curious so Mike went out and bought a couple more, this time one that would show a plus sign. In the test just below the first one, it is confirmed. Not pregnant.

You know what’s weird? I’m not sure what to make of this, so I figured I’d leave it to you guys to tell me what’s up with this. So Mike calls me into the bathroom, and I’m all, “What does he need me for?” He shows me the test and instantly I feel like “Eh”. Not joyous, not surprised or scared or anxious or anything like I felt with Nick. Just sort of “Eh. Cool.” I congratulated Mike and hugged him. “Are you happy?” he asked.

“Yes,” I lied.

It wasn’t that I was unhappy, but it was a little bit that I just didn’t care at first. I knew Mike wanted me to care, so then I felt all sarcastic and weird about it. I want to have my second child more than anything, or so I thought, so I wasn’t sure why I’d feel so indifferent when I got the first positive result in 4 years (on and off) of trying to conceive.

Truth be told, I don’t want to get pregnant. I just want the baby. Maybe that’s all it is. Maybe it’s just general unhappiness about the body-changing pregnancy. Yeah, maybe.

All I know is that this is my first false positive ever and it sucks the way it builds you up then lets you down! Now that it’s all said and done and I’m for sure not pregnant, I’m ticked that false positives are even possible! Totally unfair.

Responses

  1. Wow, I’ve never seen a false positive. Didn’t even think it was possible. I’m so sorry that you are having such a hard time conceiving and even knowing if you want to conceive. It makes perfect sense that you want a baby but don’t want to get pregnant. I have to say that I feel the same way. I’m starting to freak out about having this baby… particularly at home. It’s a scary thing and then after what you went through with Nick, I’d dare say there might be some PTSD going on… totally understandable. I pray that when the time comes, you will be at peace and feel completely excited about it!

  2. that-sucks

  3. I remember them telling me that those signs can sometimes show up 12 hours after taken..I dont know what that’s all about..but yes…it is not fair!
    I had that one time when I checked the trash a day later. It was very weird.

    And by the way..I think you will be fine once you know for sure you are pregnant. Those fears will still be there..but you are good at thinking the positive..and that little “baby face” in your mind will get you to the goal much easier.

    9 months will fly by..and then once they start walking around and fighting with the second one…you’ll want them back in your belly. (in true Fat Bast**d style) 🙂 GET IN MY BELLY! j/k

    Good Luck! And I’m still praying praying praying!!!

  4. i’m sorry.
    i had a false positive last month, & we weren’t even trying. in fact, it came as a huge shock, but then i began to look forward to it.
    i was distraught the next day when i got negatives.
    xx

  5. so I did the EXACT same test…and waited 3 minutes nothing came up..and i left it…came back three hours later…and there was the faint line…took the same EPT and got a neg. I am going to the doc tomorrow…i just wanna be sure

  6. Dani and Amanda, thank you for your comments. I’m sorry to hear this is such an issue for so many people! Amanda, I hope everything goes the way you want it to at the doctor’s– if you want to conceive or if you don’t. Good luck! And Dani, I hope that if you’re still wanting a baby, it works out for you too. ❤ Take care, ladies!

  7. Yeah it does suck.I took a test last night, I USED THE SAME BRAND TEST (THE TOP ONE IN PIC), AND I EVEN GOT A FALSE POSITIVE AND NOW IM ON MY PERIOD!!!! DONT USE THE CHEAP ONES.First response is great, I used that with my son.


Leave a Reply

Categories

