Posted by: angelnorman | March 8, 2009

fun on the interwebs.

Links I’ve discovered from various sources with which I’ve been having good times.

1) Wordle.net

Wordle takes random words from any link or bunch of text that you tell it to pull from and generates “word clouds”, giving preference to words used most frequently. I pulled several paragraphs from my latest blogs to create the one pictured above. I love that it used the words “cinnamon” and “Christ-like”.

2) Multicolr Search Lab Flickr Set

The coolest thing since sliced bread, Muticolr Search Lab Flickr Set allows the searcher (that’s you) to input his or her favorite colors and search millions of photos on Flickr using those particular colors. I input my “house colors” and go the above images, which make me so happy to look at that I attempted tiling these images as my desktop background. Once I accepted the fact that it was entirely too “busy”, I chose a selection of nice greens (mostly images of grasses and bugs) for my desktop background. You can cycle through page after page of these things, too. It’s a total time waste but fun when you need a little color in your life!

 3) US Presidents’ Handwriting

I think this is just neat. Also? I like that Abe and the 2 Andrews make their A’s similar to the way I write my A’s. You can see Barack’s here. Fascinating? Maybe not to you, but I like it!

4) This featurette of my new favorite movie, He’s Just Not that Into You.

I am pretty sure I’m becoming obsessed with Justin Long. The way he sings and later, slides down the wall, makes me love him lots. And he is in all the good movies- Zack and Miri, He’s Just Not That Into You, Galaxy Quest. (I freakin’ love Galaxy Quest, did you know?)

5) 20 Photographers Whose Work You Can Actually Afford

I am fairly certain I could spend all day looking at art, especially the photography by Alcia Bock and Yvette Inufio.

Responses

  1. Very cool..I want to do it with my words. And also, the President’s Handwriting site looks awesome.

  2. Oooh, ooooh, going to make my own word cloud now!


Leave a Reply

Categories

