Posted by: angelnorman | March 17, 2009

tuesday thankfulness

I am failing at my goals for Lent, in case you’re curious. I’ve not only been incredibly lazy but I’ve also spent the last week essentially complaining about my husband to anyone who asks me how I’ve been. I know, it’s bad. And regarding giving up that negative attitude? It’s an epic failure on my part. My mom told me not too long ago that I am Debbie Downer. It’s a good thing I didn’t talk to her much this past week or she would’ve really been giving me a hard time about my negative ‘tude. Seriously. I’ve been a bad version of myself that I’d like to forget. I’m sorry to anyone who has had to deal with me this last week, lol.

I’m not trying to make excuses, but I don’t feel so great lately. I am overwhelmed with housework and bills and Mike’s school crap (because his stress becomes my stress), and everything that is on my calendar for this next month. I am two months late for a period, and I’m feeling run down and bloated. Gross? TMI? Yeah, well. It’s true! 😛 Also? I look awful and worst, I feel I look awful. It’d be one thing if I could only make myself feel like I look decent, but nope. My self esteem is in the toilet. I haven’t been to the gym since January and I pretty much stay in my ratty pajamas all day everyday, so I shouldn’t expect to feel great about that, right?

But I didn’t come to blog about this. I came to write a list of what I’m thankful for… and cross my fingers that it cancels out the fact that I’ve been bad lately. HA! Let’s pray that it works, because I feel awful that I can’t get rid of this ‘tude not even for GOD. What does that say about me?

I’m thankful that when I finally decided to stop biting my tongue about things, my husband buckled down and helped lift some of the load off of me.

I’m thankful I have friends who call and email to keep me aware of how loved I am, how awesome I am, and how I should not feel so badly about myself.

I am thankful I have a kid who is fairly well-behaved.

I am thankful that I have a home to clean and food to cook. (Still struggling with being thankful for dishes to wash or toilets to scrub though.)

I am thankful that God has already forgiven me for my negative ‘tude. Likewise, I am thankful he will continue to help me improve myself.

I am thankful my pal Mandy had a healthy and beautiful baby boy.

I am thankful that today I’ve been reminded that I shouldn’t be so serious all the time.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have three of the cutest boys in the world here tonight who need my attention– Jenson, Kendan, and Nick. Three kids I’m also very thankful for 🙂

Responses

  1. And we’re thankful for you! And Nick too. And we’re thankful TO you for introducing us to cool movies, ice cream for dinner, hulk hands, and spinning computer room chairs. 🙂

  2. And we’re thankful for you too. And we’re thankful TO you for introducing us to Nick, Michael, Michelle, ice cream for dinner, hulk hands, spinning computer room chairs, and the coolest movies ever with girls who have long arms and short legs and even a cat who’s mission is to commit suicide. 🙂

  3. awe thanks!

    i’m sorry you feel so yuck. i feel unlovely right now too! not fun.

  4. Whoa..sorry about the duplication from the boys up there. They wwere having problems last night on the comment front. teehee.
    I am thankful for you as well. You are a very forgiving, understanding, patient, and great listening friend. I hope that we remain close when we move. And I’m thankful for you always laughing so hard at my jokes..it’s contagious. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

