Posted by: angelnorman | March 30, 2009

introductions

May I present the fabulously athletic baseballer that I gave birth to…

Nick begins t-ball on the 18th at 8 am. This weekend, we attended a meet n’ greet at the ballpark where we picked up his uniform and met his coach. As you can see, he plays for the orange and white team, which pleases me as 1) orange is one of my favorite colors and 2) I look halfway decent in orange, which is important because I have a matching t-shirt (and hat). He’s number 7 by his own choice. Technically, 7 was his second choice; the very first choice he made, the number 5, was already taken. He was so bummed that Saturday wasn’t his first day of playing baseball, but he loved trying his outfit on and showing it off to his friends and family.

***

Last week was a doozy for me. Nicholas and I had some serious issues to address about his attitude, his anger, his sassiness, and I had to go several days without him napping over the weekend just to ensure an easier bedtime. So pretty much every aspect of our lives… Well, okay. It wasn’t that bad. Basically, I think that there are some shifts in the underlying current of our lives, the natural force that keeps us moving; Nicholas is growing and changing and as he learns more, he is more independent and therefore very anti-mom and dad. I am not really surprised. It honestly reminds me so much of myself. I just don’t know how to be patient and encourage him to work things out without snapping, as I am clearly not very good at that myself… though I surely try much harder than he does, ha. Also? I am pretty sure that him being out of school last week sort of threw things off a bit. We did more together, and I’m not sure if he was just sick of seeing so much of me or what. I just know that he was a total jerk, and on Friday, I saw it extend to his friend which sort of weirded me out. Such a moody little boy– not at all surprising to his mother, the Queen of Bad Moods.

I don’t know if any of this makes sense, as I’m all hopped up on Sudafed and lunchables. I’ve been asleep since 9 pm and my head feels a little fuzzy and feverish. The joys of sinus infections!

***

I think everyone should see this video if they have not yet. It is beyond awesome, beyond what I think of as “creative”. It’s almost magical, and I really cannot get enough of it. The song itself is wonderfully written (you know how I love lyrics, or you should) and the video is just breathtakingly clever. Watch it! I learned about it on Design Mom, which inspires me on a daily basis; then I went to Oren Lavie’s myspace page and learned some interesting facts about the video, which I will share with you below.

Fun Facts, taken from his myspace blog:

*The video was shot all stills – roughly 3225 still photos for the entire video, using one camera, hanging from the ceiling for the main body of the movie.
* It took 4 weeks before shooting to create an animated computer generated storyboard for the video, with 3d dummies for the characters.
*It took only 2 days of shooting for the live actors on set to re-create the 3.5 minutes computer sequence, frame by frame.
*Some of the bed sheets used in the video were taken from Oren’s own bedroom and are now considered collectors items, worth at the moment not very much and therefore used as bed sheets.
*Each of the wonderfully talented people above have worked on the video for a fraction of their normal rates (except Oren who worked for his normal rate of zero.)

Interesting, no? I’d like to be his friend in real life.

Responses

  1. Look at him! so cute!!! can’t wait to hear all about it when he starts playing! I wanted to sign Abby up, but she said promptly, “i’m not standing out there and getting hit with a ball!” my girly girl!


Leave a Reply

Categories

