Posted by: angelnorman | May 17, 2009

very big le sigh.

Isn’t it lovely when you find a kindred spirit, someone who feels and thinks and believes the way that you do? I have many people in my life with whom I have many things in common, but there is only one person that is so much like me it’s almost scary, and that person is my husband.

We didn’t start out this way. In fact, we were quite opposites back in 1997, when we first met. I was loud and obnoxious, he was quiet and reserved. I was in to rock n’ roll, he was into rap. I was getting high, he was staying sober. I wore thrift store goods, and he wore name brands only. We were night and day.

As the years go by, though, it becomes increasingly obvious that at the core, we’re the same person. Maybe it’s because we’ve grown up together (and yes, I did give up my wild ways long ago, pretty much before he gave up his need for high dollar clothing). Maybe it’s that we’ve spent so much time with one another these last 12 years (can you believe it? 12 years of us come June 10th!) that we’ve sort of merged into one person. We laugh at all the same things. We have the same appreciation for simple pleasures like clean sheets, warm towels fresh out of the dryer, good books, fresh medium roast coffees, the smell of libraries and paper in general, and all things science (fact and fiction). Every single day, we share in these sort of things together in one form or another. We’re always laughing, always making jokes together. It’s lovely how we always know exactly what to say to make each other smile because we are so in tune with one another that it’s just natural now.

I think that’s what I’m going to miss the most this week, having someone to just make me laugh right here whenever I need that little bit of oomph in my day. Don’t get me wrong. Nicholas is a joy to me, and I am sure I will be ever so cheerful this week because he will keep me smiling and laughing in his daddy’s absence. Also, please don’t think that I am always 100% happy with my husband and that everything here is always wonderful or that our home is argument-free. I’m not trying to give that impression either. We are married after all, and we’re human and thus not perfect by any means. We can argue with the best of ’em. But you know what I realized last night? I never get tired of being around him, and even though it frustrates me when we’re arguing and he makes me laugh, I wouldn’t trade that for all the money in the world. He and I are pretty much together 24/7 since he works from home and I am a SAHM, and even if we’ve argued a lot of the time, at the end of the day, I never have a strong urge to be away from him. I need him even. It’s funny how you take that kind of stuff for granted.

We have never been apart for this amount of time. Sure it’s only a few days. Also, I will of course surround myself with other people to keep me safe as well as occupied, but it won’t be the same. I will miss my lover every second of every minute of every day until he’s safely back home with me watching Dog Whisperer or cracking jokes about something that tickles us, or blushing when I ask him, in front of the cashier at Walgreens, if he needs condoms for his trip to Orlando.

I feel like I’m missing an appendage and it’s only 8:30 AM on day 1.

Responses

  1. awww, that was so sweet! Just remind yourself that absense (sp?) makes the heart grow fonder! 🙂 Try to have a good week, even though your other half is gone.


Leave a Reply

Categories

