Posted by: angelnorman | May 19, 2009

Things you might not know about me, or things you might know, or things you might not want to know but it’s my blog and I’ll do as I please.

1. I like to mix ketchup and mayonnaise as a dip for french fries. When I was in high school, I befriended a Columbian exchange student named Alejandro, and he is the one who taught me the goodness of mixing ketchup and mayo. I will always remember him because of this.

2. Golden Girls is a recent guilty pleasure of mine. Seriously, it has become one of my favorite shows these days. Last night, there was a marathon on WE! and I watched about 3 hours worth of my favorite Miami ladies. Stayed up till 2 AM with Blanche, Rose, Dorothy, Sophia and all you can eat cheesecake. It was awesome.

3. I am obsessed with Bejewled Blitz on Facebook. Actually, I play it so much that when I try to sleep at night, I see little traingles and squares in my mind.

4. I use my iPhone to do crossword puzzles more than using it as a phone. And then sometimes I text.

5.  I love am possibly obsessed with my kid’s feet. Normally, I hate feet– everything about them really. They’re ugly– toes are so ugly to me– and they’re potentially smelly depending on how much you sweat and/or what shoes you wear. But I love Nick’s feet more than what is probably normal. They are just so precious to me, even if he’s been cursed with my long and gangly toes or even when his feet have sweat all day and smell like pickles. I sometimes hold his feet in my hands, just because I have to touch them (when he lets me). We’ll just be sitting on the couch and I’ll remove his socks to hold his feet. Weird? Maybe. Even weirder: I also kiss them and bite them a lot. Oh! Also? I make jokes about how I am going to chop all his toes off and eat them, with ranch dressing. Is that worrisome?

6. I don’t understand fascinations with celebrities and their drama. Sure I have my mild crushes on both male and female celebrities (what? I can have an innocent girl crush every now and again) but I don’t understand why magazines and blogs that focus on celebrity gossip are so popular. I have a friend (a guy friend, no less) who said he likes that sort of thing because he lacks the drama in his own life. That makes me feel really sorry for him, but then who am I to judge? I like Golden Girls.

7. It is a constant struggle for me to balance enjoying the moment and wanting to capture it all on film so I’ll never forget it. I’m sure you already knew that, though.

8. I do not buy into the antibacterial hype. Yes, I do have a bottle of hand sanitizer near every sink. Yes, I carry hand sanitizer with me. YES, I would prefer my kid not pick up that harmonica he found on the playground erm, ground, and put it to his mouth. But do I believe that we should be as strict on germ-fighting as we are? Nope, I do not. This may come back to bite me in the butt if I or anyone I love ends up with swine flu… but I just don’t think that over-cleaning is beneficial. The hand sanitizer on my sinks is actually there for my guests and for those times when Nick prefers to use “magic soap”, which is what they call it at his school. We do not use bleach to kill bacteria here, but our toilets- cleaned with vinegar and baking soda mostly- are just as clean and sparkly as those that are scoured with toxic chemicals. Our laundry might not be as white, but then, we don’t own many whites anyhow. I do not believe that killing all the germs is necessary. I think we do better to build healthy immune systems that can come into contact with germs and fight off diseases with relative ease.

9. I sometimes start a blog thinking that I have a lot to say and realize that I don’t actually have anything important to say at all nor do I really feel like blogging most of the way through. Like now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

