Posted by: angelnorman | June 25, 2009

Trimming the fat.

I may have forgotten how to blog. This is half of the reason I have not finished my trip updates and all, I suppose. Also? I’m sort of having a bit of difficulty with my marriage right now. Nothing that a little counseling couldn’t fix, you know, if he would make the call he needs to make. (Le sigh.) But a big chunk of the reason I haven’t blogged, really, is because I’ve been living. Yep, I’m doing something for me and for the first time, not recording every moment of it. I am living solely in the moment and not focusing on what happened yesterday or the day before or even last week. It’s really strange for me, but I honestly don’t care to share the rest of the trip with you. We went to Legoland and to Chicago. There, it’s done. You’ve seen the pics, and I doubt you need anymore explanation. (If you do, you can just ask me and I’d be happy to share it with you. In person or email.)

Other than the whole passive-aggressive marital issue, I’m doing okay. I’m doing Weight Watchers on a daily basis, and I’m working out as often as I can. Nicholas and I are having fun just being carefree and laid back this summer. Most of our days are spent in play or in the water or just enjoying the sunshine, so that’s good. Mike is doing well– he was just asked to write a program for his job, so it’s like he’s actually using his degree after all! I am very proud, despite the tone. (I do indeed love him, after all.) The dogs are all still alive and getting lots of love from us, although Nick did ask me to get rid of Chewie this morning. So maybe his time is limited. (Kidding.)

So there you have it. That’s us.

I’ve also cut through the BS in my life as much as possible. I’ve let some toxic habits (bye bye fast food!) and relationships go. No, this is not about my dad. Father’s Day was great and I love him and I will never, ever give up on that relationship no matter how distant it gets at times. But in some of my more “difficult” relationships, I’m standing up for myself more and not falling into that same ol’ pattern of being everybody’s doormat. I think I have fought so hard to be deemed as “nice”, that I’ve let things slide that should have been easier to handle. Also, I think a lot of times, I’ve expected other people to sort of stand up for me and I have kept quiet about SO MUCH. I, inspired by a great friend of mine, am now no longer biting my tongue. When I want something, I ask for it. When I think something is stupid, I’ll let somebody know. I just have no more room in my life for people who say they have my interests at heart but are driven instead by their own motives. I have no room for childishness, for pettiness, for dramatics and ridiculousness. Life is entirely too short to have that extra worry, you know? 

And it’s summer! No one needs a worry-filled summer!

So this is the place I’m at in my life right now. I’m not hanging out with my friends every day or being my usually chipper self, no, but I do feel empowered and more confident lately, so that’s good. And I don’t think there’s anything wrong with introspection or getting my ducks in a row. It’s just what needs to be done, after all. Physically and emotionally, both in body and in spirit, I am trimming the fat. It’s like gastric bypass for my life, so forgive me in advance if I forget to blog about it during my recovery.

Responses

  1. So, what your saying is, the next time you get a crappy waitress or some jerk won’t give you a quarter for his damn chimp, you are gonna let em have it?? 🙂

  2. EXACTLY! 🙂 I fully blame my newfound ‘tude on the midwest, just so you know. Haha. I’m kidding.


Leave a Reply

Categories

