Posted by: angelnorman | July 7, 2009

Muffin Tin Lunch and other things

Almost every blog I read has, at one time or another (and sometimes multiple times), posted pics of muffin tins filled with veggies, fruits, and other finger foods on their blog, usually with a story about how they saw it on someone else’s blog and thought it would be a great idea to try this in their own homes, on their own little eaters. Today’s entry is no exception. The idea, I suppose, is to present fruits and veggies in a unique way and make it more accessible. I’m really not sure what the point is, honestly. We always have in our fridge and pantry plenty of accessible and healthy snacks for Nick. But I thought I’d try it anyways, you know, just because I will try anything once to see if Nick will eat a piece of broccoli without force. My picture’s a little blurrier and my muffin tin is filled with produce that I must eat up before I end up having to toss it all out. (Tis such a shame that produce doesn’t last longer, but I suppose buying fresh foods and eating them right away is the best way to go regardless.) But my attempt is like any other mother’s.

I’m not sure about the rest of you and the sort of results you get, but Nick still wouldn’t eat the veggies. Cucumbers, broccoli, and carrots were laid out before him and he rejected every one. He also tasted every one, though, so maybe I’m doing better than I thought. The grapes, the apples with peanut butter, and the mozzarella cheese all pleased him and he ate pretty much one muffin tin of each. Mike and I ate the rest.

***

Nick: I wish I had twins.
Me: Like twin brothers or twin sisters or a brother or sister who looks like you and is your twin?
Nick: My twin. A brother.
Me: What would we name your twin brother?
Nick: I don’t know.
Me: Well your name is Nick… so what do you think we should call your twin brother who looks just like you?
Nick: How about “Cah”?
Me: Cah? So… Nicholas and Cah?
Nick: Yes, Cah. Like Nicholas and Cah-doody Norman. That’s a good name for my twin.

***

I wonder if Cah-doody would eat his carrots and broccoli.

Leave a Reply

Categories

