Posted by: angelnorman | October 6, 2009

Cute things my kid has said this week

I never ever carry cash, but yesterday, I had $8 in my purse.  (Woo, Big Money!) As I was headed to the doctor’s office this afternoon, I noticed that it was missing. Usually that can only mean one thing. “Nick,” I began, “Do you know where Mommy’s money is?”

“In my room,” he answered.

“Um, and why is it in your room?”

He thought for a moment. “I was going to buy a toy.”

Crazy kid. I had to ask. “Where is it in your room?”

“Under my table.”

I gave him a short leesson about stealing and how wrong it is to take things that do not belong to us. I told him I’d rather he ask me for a new toy than to steal my money just in case he ever makes it to Target without me and remembers that he is saving his stolen money for that special occasion. He nodded, but then said, “I didn’t steal it though.”

“Taking something that isn’t yours is stealing though, Nick.”

It didn’t take him long to process that. “But I didn’t mean to steal! I sneaked and kept it a secret.”

***

Yesterday, he “woke up” from his nap (though he had never slept) complaining of his left ear hurting and “making a noise”. We had made plans to go to a local pumpkin farm after his nap, but since he wasn’t feeling well, I decided against it. Well, Nicholas loves the farm and since we’ve yet to go this year, his little hopes were so high. So, like a good child knows to do, he begged and pleaded, and finally I caved. I decided if I covered him up properly, he’d be okay for a little fun on the farm.

On the way there, though, he threw up (and went potty) all over himself pretty much ending that trip. We came home, cleaned him up, and he continued throwing up. I felt so bad for him, and I didn’t leave his side. Finally, he said, “I have to go potty.” Once he was seated in the proper position, he put his little head in his hands and sighed.

“What’s the matter, baby?” I asked.

“This is the worst day ever,” he answered.

I couldn’t help but give him lots of love after that.

***

Nick: What’s making me sneeze?
Me: I’m not sure. Probably you’re allergic to something outside.
Nick: What’s making me cough?
Me: It’s probably all your drainage from your nose.
Nick: Drainage?
Me: Yes.
Nick: Oh. I thought it was the mashed potatoes I ate for dinner last day.

What a hilarious kid.

***

At the doctor’s office, Nick’s eyes got wide all of the sudden and his little finger pointed to a book in a rack between us. “Look it, Mommy! Twilight!”

I picked up the book, which was called Tuscany, and flipped it to the back to see the Twilight reference. It was a picture of a forest with the sunshine streaming through. “That’s not Twilight,” I whispered, a little embarrassed though no one was even around. (What have we done to our kid?)

“Well it has TREES like Twilight.”

Touche.

***

Two nights ago, Mike and I told Nicholas about The Hobbit and then, when we were finished there, we told him about LOTR. So last night, we decided to watch the movie, and Nicholas was immediately captivated by the sickness (in a good way) that is Legolas.

“Wow. I have never saw anyone kick butt like that,” he said.

We. were. so. proud.

***

Nick= coolest kid ever. Any future children I have will have a hard time trumping his awesomeness, I’ll tell you that.

Responses

  1. How freaking cute! Hope he feels better soon!

  2. The things he has said were all so cute, and almost were as cute as “I’m Ignorman you.” I will never forget that one. He is so precious….


Leave a Reply

Categories

