Posted by: angelnorman | March 11, 2010

bored out of my mind.

Self portrait of the week:

Have you any idea how much I love my ivory cardigan that I got on clearance at Old Navy?

Also, I’ve taken a liking to skirts being worn as long shirts lately. This is the second skirt I’ve tried this with. Yep, that yellow and green garment under my cardigan is a summery skirt that I’ve been missing… but it’s too cool to wear a skirt in my neck of the woods. So. There ya go.

***

This makes me hurt: the top 5 most awesome questions for our president. You have to watch these videos.

But never fear if you don’t have the time… I’ve taken the liberty of reproducing them for you. The American people want to know…

5. What would you do if terrorists came and destroyed the White House? And more importantly, what would you do if aliens came and destroyed the White House?
4. What are they putting in our American skies? And why did you hit Haiti with a tectonic weapon that killed HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of people? Also, what was that Norwegian spiral deal that opened up into a big black vortex? Was that a missile?
3.  (First of all, he addressed our president as “Hey Obama!” LAME.) Would you support a national bedtime law to help us get more sleep? And which Rocky movie is your favorite?
2. Will you legalize “the weed”?
1. If you were the strongest and wealthiest person in your neighborhood, how many turkey sandwiches could you eat in a day? And how many birds can you feed?

***

I’ve been decorating for spring time. Well, perhaps I should clarify and say that I’ve been attempting to decorate for spring. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in all the inspiration I have come across in my internet travels, but it’s so hard for me to take what I already have and make something lovely. Especially since none of the things I have work well with one another. I love coordinated things but don’t really own many pieces of decor that coordinate well. And sure, I could go out and by something nice and new, but then that would mean spending money I don’t have. Therein lies my issue.

But then today I saw the cutest little simple and spring-y set up on some site that gives props to cheap dollar-store versions of favorite name brand stores, namely Pottery Barn. I love Pottery Barn, but alas, cannot afford to pay $50 for a single piece of decor. Or $99 for a kid-sized chair. Or… well, I think you get the idea.

So I created this:

Everything- plate included- was $1 each, purchased at the Dollar Tree. Except for the eggs, they are from Big Lots and something I already had on hand. I’m going to eventually get some normal easter eggs and speckle paint them in neutral colors and robin’s egg blue.

What’s that? Why yes! Yes I did just recently post my easter tree centerpiece…. and yes, that means I’ve moved it to somewhere else and replaced it with the items in the photo above.

Just a few more touches and then I’ll leave this centerpiece alone until summer! I swear I’ll try! I won’t go rearranging it again!

…Unless something else inspires me, of course. I can’t be held responsible in the event that I see something on Martha Stewart’s or BHG’s sites that I MUST have in my own home. Sorry, but I’m weak-willed when it comes to prettiness.

Responses

  1. skirts as shirts? genius. p.s. i almost wrote shits. oops. i just did.


Leave a Reply

Categories

