Posted by: angelnorman | July 24, 2010

Louie Louie!

Last night, the announcer at Zanies came over the intercom and warned us about the perils of parking in the wrong spots. Mike and I had nothing to worry about; somehow we had managed to swing the first spot nearest the corner of 8th and Douglas– about 25 feet from the entrance. (score!)

A minute later the voice returns, only this time, it’s obviously Louis CK. “A few more announcements…” he said, trying his best to sound as Nashvillian as the first guy, before finally saying in his normal Louis way, “oh, and this is a different guy by the way.”

“There should be no one in the building when the show starts. Please make your way to the exits and proceed to your homes.”

Laughter filled the room as more and more people realized it was him. He introduced Todd Barry, who was pretty funny in his own way, and then about 15 minutes later, he walked onto the stage.

“Oh my god,” I whispered at mike, who smiled in a way that read, “OMG, right? I know!”

You know how some people look shorter or taller or fatter or skinnier on tv and then when you see them in person, it weirds you out a little to see how different they are? Like how Pat Sajak is incredibly short but doesn’t look that short on TV…? Well Louis looks exactly like you see him on tv, and it completely blew my mind to see him that close to me. I instantly regretted not taking the front row seats offered to us when we arrived. ( I was too chicken that he’d pick on us). I suddenly wanted to be able to touch him… in a non-creepy way, of course. He was so real!

He began his set by thanking us for coming out and giving him our money. “A lot of people say that, but I really mean it. Thank you for giving me the money that used to belong to you.” He talked about being divorced, being a single dad, taking the Lord’s name in vain. ” If you say, ‘Jesus Christ!’, you’re going to hell forever. There’s a guy in hell saying, ‘really? All I said was Jesus! What was I supposed to do? It was a giant pumpkin!'” I don’t know why he chose pumpkin, but it made me snort.

He talked about his 5-year old daughter dictating everything they do, about how times are different now and how much closer you have to watch your kids to protect them from pedophiles. He talked about equality between your kids, how it’s stupid to do the same thing for all of them when in actuality they are separate people and should not get the same things. It was hilarious. “I gave my daughter a cookie. Her sister looks at me, says, ‘Where’s my cookie?’ and I said, ‘ You don’t get one just because she did! You aren’t her! You’re a whole seperate being!’ That’s how life works. No employer is gonna say, ‘Well, we gave John a raise, guess we should give Mary one too so she doesn’t feel left out!'”

Incredibly good stuff.

We had a blast… It was well worth the $ we paid to see him on stage up there for an hour and listening to him rant about life and other people. I would gladly pay to see him again. Next time, though, I’m taking the front row!

Leave a Reply

Categories

