Posted by: angelnorman | September 17, 2010

South Beach Diet and Us

On Saturday of last week, I was hanging at my friend Ashley’s and met a girl named D, who is pregnant (and is due in 4 weeks or so now), and she and I were discussing parenting, pregnancy, and things of that sort. I mentioned casually that I’d been trying for two years to conceive baby number two but that not too long ago, I had learned that I didn’t even ovulate. She looked up at me suddenly and said, “Do you have PCOS?!”

It’s always funny to me how I can tell when a person has PCOS simply because they know the term. 9 times out of 10, people have to ask me, “What is PCOS?”” Not having to explain my syndrome is always a welcome experience for me. Meeting others who either know firsthand what PCOS is or know someone who has PCOS always makes my day; it reminds me that even though it may feel like I’m alone in my own little infertile world, I’m really not alone in this great big world around me. That’s refreshing to someone like me who struggles with feelings of disconnectedness on a regular basis.

So D suffers from PCOS too, and there she was in front of me, pregnant belly and all. She went on to tell me that she decided a while back to control her insulin issues using the South Beach Diet plan. She got all the way down to a size four, she exclaimed, and she actually enjoyed doing it. My fertility doctor suggested the first day that I consider the diet, too, back in April at our first meeting. She said that it would be a guaranteed weight loss plan that would work well for my body as it wouldn’t have to fight so hard to regulate my blood sugar levels. D agreed when I told her about this, and suggested I give it at least 6 months while still trying to conceive.

D didn’t know this, but she left me that night with a TON of inspiration. If she could do it, and be almost exactly like me in her health issues, then why couldn’t I? Furthermore, her ovaries apparently worked properly eventually! After all, she is pregnant! And got pregnant on her fourth try after shedding the 40 lbs she was carrying before she began the South Beach diet.

I spent all of Sunday contemplating whether or not I should begin. Thinking about cutting all carbs from my diet, even fruit, made me a little anxious, I’m not going to lie. I like a sandwich every now and again, or a bowl of cereal, or a banana, ooh! or some strawberry yogurt.  I couldn’t imagine cutting dairy, bread, starch, AND most cheeses from my diet all at once. But, come Monday morning I bit the bullet and decided that now was the time to try it out.

This was my meal for SBD Phase One, Day One (Monday):

Breakfast:
Egg, Spinach, Turkey Bacon Fritatta with Parmesan and Reduced Fat Mozzarella cheese

Lunch:
6 oz. sirloin steak, asparagus, side salad with vinaigrette

Dinner:
Italian soup (Spinach, White Beans, Chicken Broth, Carrots, and Italian Sausage)

…Okay, so I messed up at dinner with the carrots and italian sausage, BUT I didn’t have much of either thing. I had extra beans instead.

The rest of the week, I ate some version of eggs and turkey bacon at breakfast (most often in fritatta form since Mike loves my egg and spinach fritattas), some sort of salad with grilled chicken or shrimp for lunch, and various chicken-based things for dinner including spicy chicken chili (with extra onion and jalapeno) and cheesy pesto chicken with green beans. The hardest thing I’ve faced is the limited food choices. I get SO TIRED of eating the same things over and over. Sometimes I want a big juicy cheeseburger (with bun and all the fixin’s) or a Beef n’ Cheddar from Arby’s. Or french fries. I miss french fries so much.

But as suspected, I’ve done okay with not eating anything sweet or anything made of bread. I don’t miss sugar. I don’t miss doughnuts, cakes, pastries, or ice cream. I don’t even miss yogurt really. I miss potatoes and pasta. I would almost kill for some spaghetti right now.

Today I decided to weigh-in on my WiiFit, and it claimed that after only 5 days of eating a low-carb diet, I’ve lost almost 4 lbs. 4 lbs in 5 days! And in a rush to see how accurate it was, I made Mike weigh-in too. He was down just under 5 lbs! I verified this weight when I went to the doctor’s office this morning to take Nick for a check-up regarding his allergies. She weighed him and afterwards I said, “Um, can I weigh myself now?” She gave me the okay, and I couldn’t believe that I was really down 3.5 lbs in such a short time. It renewed my faith in myself to be able to fight against this weight issue I’ve got.

I’m not even bothered by the fact that Mike is only about ten pounds heavier than me right now.  Well, okay, I am a little bothered by it. I’m so used to him being like 30-40 lbs heavier than me. He’s going to catch up!

I have a lot more energy than I have been having, too, although I am not sure how much of that is diet-related. It’s just kind of odd that all of the sudden, I’m sleeping a lot better. My period of rest- be it a nap or bedtime- is more fulfilling. I wake up refreshed and rarin’ to go most mornings. It’s kind of glorious.

I’m excited to see how this works for us. I have about 80 lbs to lose to get to my perfect weight for my height, which is 150. So yes, that means I started on Monday at a whopping 229 lbs. I am now 225.5, thank you very much. Mike is 234. Oh! And in case you were curious to know more about Mike… He started trying to lose weight in September of last year and has made gradual changes to his diet (such as more water, healthier cereals)… And he started at 271 lbs. That’s right, he’s down almost 40 lbs this year, and he’s still losing.

We will get healthier! We will! In fact, we’re already doing it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

