Posted by: angelnorman | January 31, 2011

Jimmy wrote me a letter.

This is Jimmy. We started sponsoring him last month as part of our personal commitment to God. For many months, I had felt the urge to do something positive for someone else in this world, something that could make a real difference in the life (lives) of others, but I had no idea where to start. It wasn’t until I watched a video by Eric Ludy entitled, “Depraved Indifference” that my heart was touched. It wasn’t just touched. It was broken. I ached to take action immediately and it was right around Christmas, when the thought of how much we, as Americans, take for granted weighed heavily upon my mind and heart. God really spoke to me through that video, and led me to A Holy Experience shortly thereafter where I learned about Compassion International and the tremendous work they do for children all over the world. I knew almost instantly that I should begin by helping a child, because what, indeed, if it were my Nicholas there in the streets of Uganda? What if it were my Nicholas there without clean water, a steady supply of food, or access to vaccinations and medications that keep him disease-free? Well were it my Nicholas, I wouldn’t hesitate to give up every single posession I owned to help him. Well… Jimmy is God’s “Nicholas”. The way we love our children is the way we are loved by God, only a zillion times more! My heart was filled with emotion for this little boy and for his family in Uganda.

If I am to be a friend of Jesus, then I am asked to act upon the needs of others in His name. One single monthly donation could make a huge impact on the heart of one of God’s children in a foreign land, I knew that much was true, but I had no idea how much of an impact it would have on me.

Today I received my first letter from Jimmy. He drew me pictures and the sponsor donor relations worker wrote to me what Jimmy had to say. It goes like this:

Dear Angel Norman,

Jimmy Mugabe says praise God. He says thank you for choosing him to be your sponsored child. He loves his project because it has taught him to love Jesus, sing, praise, and pray to God. He says he attends Centreday (?) once a week. He takes breakfast and lunch from the centre. He says his family appreciates you for considering him as your sponsored child. May God bless you.

From your child Jimmy

My heart leaps every time I think of the letter, and of the little boy on the other side of the world who doesn’t know me from Adam but knows that I care enough about him to help.

On the back it says that his favorite color is red, his favorite game is soccer, his favorite song is “I love you my Lord” and his favorite food is posho.  His favorite school subject is drawing, and if he could visit anywhere, he would go to the zoo to see all the different species of animals. How precious is that?

From top to bottom, left to right: a house, a lady, a chicken, a mouth. a boy wearing a shoe, an eye with a lot of lashes, a pair of glasses, and a pitcher.

It was so cute because Mike was the one who read the letter first, as he was the one who checked the mail on his way to pick Nick up from school. He called me and told me all about it and read it to me over the phone. We both had lumps in our throats and tears in our eyes as he read. He told me all about the pictures Jimmy drew, and he said, “there’s this thing he drew by the pitcher that I have NO idea what it is. I’m not trying to be ugly, but honestly, it looks dirty.” So I tell him I’m sure it’s not two penises side by side like he thinks, and then I let him go to hop on FB and share my good news: I got my first letter from my friend Jimmy!

So Mike gets home, hands me the letter and says, “Look at that picture! I showed Nick the paper and the first thing Nick says is, ‘Nice glasses!’ Well I didn’t remember seeing glasses so I said, ‘Where?’ and he goes, ‘Right here. He drew glasses.’ And sure enough he didn’t draw penises!”

Not that we ever believed he would have. But you know, ours minds aren’t as pure as Nick’s I guess.

Still, how great my day is to have received such a sweet letter from Jimmy. I just adore him and his family and consider myself blessed to have the opportunity to reach out to them in Christ’s name with a love that spans oceans and continents!

Responses

  1. I love him and I wish we could meet him….I would give him a big kiss and a really big hug…he is precious to me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

